Recent Reviews

The Tavern Knight

by Rafael Sabatini

A swashbuckling romance typical to the other authorís books. The storyline and adventure was good but although the son was rude, you would have expected more maternal feelings toward him, so the ending wasnít as heartwarming as I would have preferred.

Reviewed on 2015.07.27
by gibel

On the Iron at Big Cloud

by Frank L. Packard

This is some really interesting reading.It's more a like a collection of short railroad stories,very well written.

Reviewed on 2015.07.27
by mnmller

The Beach Scene

by Albert Berg

Well, yes, I did see the ending coming from almost the first time the painting was mentioned. I must be too blasť, stuff like this doesn't thrill me or give me nightmares.
If you like boogie-boogie stories, you might like this, other reviewers have. When you've finished it, please download The Picture of Dorian Gray.

Reviewed on 2015.07.27
by Lisa Carr

Captain Innocencio

by Rex Beach

A rather amoral Haitian seaman decides the tribal law of the San Blas natives forbidding outsiders to interbreed with them doesn't apply to him. He has noticed a native girl and means to have her.
An easy-going story of doom, with much good description, bloody action, and good characterizations. If you like Caribbean adventure stories, this is a good one.

Reviewed on 2015.07.27
by Lisa Carr

Doom of the Griffiths

by Elizabeth Gaskell

A Welsh traitor is condemned to a long life of scorn and cursed that his children will always have bad luck, and in the 10th generation the son will kill the father and the family line will end. This is the story of the 9th and 10th generations, and the slowly evolving resolution of the curse.
Some good descriptions and plotting. I felt it was a short story rather than a historical account, just as Hamlet is a play rather than a historical account.

Reviewed on 2015.07.27
by Lisa Carr

The Riddle of the Night

by Thomas W. Hanshew

Disappointing mystery novel. Starts out OK but by the end it becomes a bloated, convoluted, and repetitious mess. This book could have been a decent short story with some heavy pruning and editing.

Reviewed on 2015.07.26
by bhold

What The Left Hand Was Doing

by Gordon Randall Garrett

Written in 1960, set in 1990. A Chinese-American physicist on the track of interstellar propulsion is kidnapped and a double substituted and killed while he is attending a conference in Peiping. An agent of a secret US spy agency with psi powers is dispatched to find and rescue the scientist.
An okay story, but almost fantasy because if the guy can do anything, where's the conflict? Even James Bond needs a rocket pack to levitate. When the hero has only one limitation--he gets tired--you might as well read a Superman comic book.

Reviewed on 2015.07.24
by Lisa Carr

Weird Shorts

by Ginae B. McDonald

Short, odd, experimental writing that could use an editor for spelling and word choice. " not all dissociative's are aware," "flair-legged Levi's," "my parched palette," "I'm not going to star now," "never roused me to surrender to that inclement," and "the cold that envelopes us," are some of the mistakes that jarred me out of what I was reading and made me wonder if any of what was on the page was what the author meant to say.
Experimental doesn't work if the technique is sloppy.

Reviewed on 2015.07.24
by Lisa Carr

The Waste Land

by T.S. Eliot

One poem. It doesn't have the quotable lines Prufrock has, but the words are elegant and the images and ideas twist inside your mind. At the end, all I could say was,
damn.

Reviewed on 2015.07.24
by Lisa Carr

The Honour of the Knights

by Stephen J. Sweeney

The other reviewers have nailed it, so I'll add little. This is a good read, but there are lots of writing points that need to be addressed by an editor. Could have been a 5-star rating otherwise.

Reviewed on 2015.07.23
by JoJo Biggins

more reviews ->