Free and Discounted Ebooks
Join 150,000 readers! Get our ebook deals straight to your inbox.

Recent Reviews

Pollyanna

by Eleanor Hodgman Porter

It is a faboulus book for kids.

Reviewed on 2017.06.12
by amisha

Probability

by Louis Trimble

I went back and forth over whether to rate this story 3 or 4 stars. It's really in between, but I gave it the benefit of the doubt.

A rather simplistic story with no particular twists or turns. Some of it's even a bit hokey and tired. But, I thought the writing was otherwise pretty good, and it kept me entertained without moaning.

Simply put, a guy figures out time travel and has all the expected fun with it without any of the usual consequences.

Reviewed on 2017.06.06
by JoJo Biggins

PRoblem

by Alan Nourse

The start of the story is a little misleading in that it seems comical and superficial, but then it settles down into a bit better sci-fi. There are hints of the ending through the story, but when it comes, it's a real disappointment. Trite, in fact.

Ugly but benign creatures from another dimension are flooding Earth. How do you sell the populace on that?

Reviewed on 2017.06.06
by JoJo Biggins

Problem on Balak

by Roger D. Aycock

A rather interesting story premise that kind of wanders into nothing at the end.

Earthmen must determine who is the imposter among them, and it turns out there's not much interesting that goes on to do so.

Reviewed on 2017.06.06
by JoJo Biggins

The Professional Approach

by Theodore Lockhard Thomas

The previous reviewer got it all right except for the rating - a "1" at best. Terribly boring story that is not sci fi. This is just a romp through the patent world. Ugh.

Reviewed on 2017.06.06
by JoJo Biggins

Prison of a Billion Years

by C.H. Thames

This is a tired old tale of the future going back in time to create the past that eventually creates the future. It's been done too many times, and nothing new here to make it interesting.

Reviewed on 2017.05.31
by JoJo Biggins

The Eye of Zeitoon

by Talbot Mundy

Absolutely suspenseful story based on a very true-to-facts and credible historical accounts of the large-scale massacres of the Armenian population of Ottoman Turkey carried out by bloodthirsty Turkish, Kurdish and Circassian moslem mobs in the tragic months following the April 1909 massacres of Armenians in Adana and Cilicia proper; it is a must-read for all Armenians and Westerners that are keen on the history of the last years of the Ottoman Turkish Empire and Armenians' tragic sufferings of the times as the author illustriously tells an adventurous story with very credible characters of Zeytoun Armenian freedom fighters, road-robber gypsies, murderous Turks and a group of Anglo-Saxon refined men set out on the adventure of a lifetime in Anatolia at the times of Ottoman Turkey's militarization and ruthless persecution and massacres of its Christian subjects, in particular the Armenians of Ottoman Turkey...

Reviewed on 2017.05.29
by Vahe Achikian

The Thirty-Nine Steps

by John Buchan

I quite enjoy reading of this book.

Reviewed on 2017.05.27
by ferri

Prelude to Space

by Robert W. Haseltine

This story has some good potential, but it just really goes nowhere. Very short, and nothing of particular interest happens.

Reviewed on 2017.05.25
by JoJo Biggins

Police Your Planet

by Lester del Rey

A decent story, but rough around the edges. I expected much more from a name like Lester Del Rey. While the plot keeps your attention, the dialog can be a bit unbelievable at times, and most of the characters are pretty thin. Other than that, it's better than most books on the site. I would rate it 3.5 stars if I could, but gave it the benefit of the doubt.

An ex-cop from Earth goes on a rip-roarin' Mars adventure, with plenty of action, subterfuge, and plot twists. Our hero is out to save Mars both from itself and from Earth. With corruption surpassing that of the Wild West, the task is monumental.

Reviewed on 2017.05.24
by JoJo Biggins

more reviews ->

(advanced)
login | register

User ID

Password

reset password

SUBSCRIBE TO MANYBOOKS 

FREE EBOOKS 

Join 150,000+ fellow readers! Get Free eBooks and book bargains from ManyBooks in your inbox. 

We respect your email privacy