Free and Discounted Ebooks
Join 130,000 readers! Get our ebook deals straight to your inbox.

Recent Reviews

Ministry of Disturbance

by H. Beam Piper

This is an OK story. It\'s well-written, and even has a tiny twist at the end. However, there\'s nothing truly exciting going on, and the end of the story just peters out.

The Galactic Emperor plots to add some spice to his empire. Ho-hum.

Reviewed on 2016.04.06
by JoJo Biggins

The Best American Humorous Short Stories

by Various

Possibly the worst short story collection I've ever read. As too often happens, the editor—Jessup, finds it necessary to spout off at length about his vast knowledge and the idealized reasons for choosing these particular tales, wasting space which might have held two more stories.

It contains a one or two humorous stories, some droll efforts, a couple of decent anecdotes, one of the worst things Poe ever wrote, a weak example of Bret Harte, Twain's Jumping Frog, and at least one tale that no rational person would ever call humor.

If I gave stars (which I no longer do) it would rate minus 1.

Reviewed on 2016.04.06
by Dai Alanye

Millennium

by Everett B. Cole

I so wanted to give this story 4 stars. But the author bungled the ending. No matter how bad a jerk your hero is, you always want to see him get some sort of win in the end. This story disappoints in that respect. Otherwise, it\'s a good read.

An advanced alien culture has lost a series of technical gadgets on a backwards planet (presumably Earth, but never explicitly stated). The aliens now must retrieve their objects without disturbing the locals or their culture.

Reviewed on 2016.04.05
by JoJo Biggins

The Mind Digger

by Winston K. Marks

I\'m being very generous by rating this story at 3 stars. And that\'s a shame. There was so much good here, but the author just threw the ending away and ruined it. Nevertheless, worth the time to read.

A wonder boy starts producing smash Broadway plays. His talent eventually dries up. Sounds simple, but the author does a good job of keeping it interesting.

Reviewed on 2016.04.05
by JoJo Biggins

The Mighty Dead

by William Campbell Gault

Surprisingly good. Not great - but, good.

In a world where the printed word is banned, an enforcement officer must decide between his job and the tug of what is truly right.

Reviewed on 2016.03.31
by JoJo Biggins

The Desert of Wheat

by Zane Grey

A pretty decent story of Washington State, the IWW and the First World War. Melodramatic and a bit wordy with idealized hero and heroine but definitely worth a read.
[I've stopped giving stars]

Reviewed on 2016.03.30
by Dai Alanye

Metropolis

by Thea von Harbou

Weird. Beyond that, hard to follow, long-winded, and full of religious quotes and symbolism that are never explained. If you have a lot of time to waste, this story is for you, otherwise, skip it.

Reviewed on 2016.03.29
by JoJo Biggins

The Riddle of the Sands

by Erskine Childers

I stopped reading at one third of the book. It was quite boring for me. And strange writing for me as a non-English reader.

Reviewed on 2016.03.27
by ferri

The Game of Rat and Dragon

by Paul Myron Anthony Linebarger

Linebarger, AKA Cordwainer Smith wrote many out of the ordinary stories which foreshadowed a large number of far future stories by many authors. Dr Linebarger was Sun Yat Sen's godson and many of his stories reflect Chinese story telling techniques. Game of Rat & Dragon is one of my favorites.

Reviewed on 2016.03.27
by vilstef

Cabbages and Cauliflowers: How to Grow Them

by James John Howard Gregory

This us a little book written by a seed seller. He also was a farmer and tester of lots of different variates of plants.He mostly focuses on cabbages, it makes up about 95% of the book. In the book he lists many variates of cabbages and what growing conditions are best for them. He also briefly covered a little about cauliflowers, broccoli, Brussels sprouts, and Kale. I found the book useful and informative. This book is from 1889.

Reviewed on 2016.03.26
by Greg B.

more reviews ->

(advanced)
login | register

User ID

Password

reset password

Author of the Day

Rob Sinclair
Rob Sinclair promised his wife that he could pen a “can’t-put-it-down thriller” and, three books later, he is still doing it. Today he talks to us about keeping his books fresh in a genre known for its tropes, the key to writing good action scenes and which actor could best fill the shoes of Carl Logan.
Read full interview...

SUBSCRIBE TO MANYBOOKS 

FREE EBOOKS 

Join 120,000+ fellow readers! Get Free eBooks and book bargains from ManyBooks in your inbox. 

We respect your email privacy