Free and Discounted Ebooks
Join 130,000 readers! Get our ebook deals straight to your inbox.

Recent Reviews

Philistia

by Grant Allen

This wry novel on class conflict in 19th-century England chronicles the lives of four Oxford men from very different backgrounds and outlooks: Harry Oswald, a brilliant mathematician, although neither he nor anyone else can forget that his parents are plebeian grocers; Arthur Berkeley, a clergyman and composer with surprising origins; and the Le Breton brothers, sons of a military officer, gently-born but not wealthy Ernest, a single-minded socialist, and the more conventional and selfish Herbert as well as Oswald's sister, Edie, and Lady Hilda Tregellis, daughter of an earl.

The story isn't complimentary to the aristocracy or the period's status quo, and dwells on issues which, outside of the hereditary element, seem very relevant to the widening income gap in the U.S. today. It's interesting reading, with excellent characterizations, though it moves slowly in places.

Reviewed on 2017.01.09
by Leah A. Zeldes

Graustark

by George Barr McCutcheon

A classic romantic adventure of the early 20th century, first of a six-book series. If King Edward VIII grew up reading this sort of stuff, it explains a lot about his abdication. I don't suppose he did, though, since George Barr McCutcheon was American, with the period's usual American fascination with royalty combined with certainty that the American way is best and that Americans are naturally superior to all others.

While traveling cross country, Grenfall Lorry falls in love with a young woman he meets on a train, a Miss Guggenslocker from Graustark. She sails for her homeland almost immediately, however.

Unable to forget her, he finally resolves to travel to the tiny Eastern European principality to try to track her down. Arriving in her hometown, he discovers that Miss Guggenslocker isn't who she seemed.

Reviewed on 2017.01.09
by Leah A. Zeldes

The Hidden Children

by Robert W. Chambers

Mr Chambers use and accuracy of New York Revolutionary War history and Iroquois culture is amazing. He weaves a romantic adventure filled with the above. The protagonist tells a first person tale of Sullivan's 1779 Expedition against the Iroquois who remained loyal to the British. This was a total war March before Sherman.

Reviewed on 2017.01.07
by Larry

The Monster Men

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

An absolutely brilliant sci-fi adventure book. the story is fast-paced and exciting. the action is great and it raises moral questions.

It could never be written today as some non-white characters are villainous (you can only have white badguys these days) but it is actually balanced.

the only problem is a very dumb twist at the end that feels tacked on and defeats the moral questions raised, but it can and should be ignored.

Reviewed on 2017.01.05
by kveto from prague

The Lion of the North

by G.A. Henty

lion of north a Pretty one-sided view of the 30 years war, which Henty tries to reduce to Catholics bad, Protestants good. A complex war like the 30 years war needs a better judge than Henty, who just decides that whichever side the Brits are on is right. It at least focuses on Scots rather than English.

Worth reading if just to see the mental gymnastics Henty tries to pull to make the Protestants innocent, like when they cast the Catholic ministers out the window (defenstration) they were only just getting them some fresh air, not trying to murder them.

Most repetition of battle facts and numbers.

Reviewed on 2017.01.04
by kveto

Beasts of New York

by Jon Evans

excellent book!! so not his normal style it floored me, and so standalone interesting and enjoyable it's the best thing I've read all last year! his insight as to how the world looks from an animals view was inspiring, thanks! maybe my dog is trying to talk to me, and maybe about more than just food.

Reviewed on 2017.01.04
by jack folk

Both Sides the Border

by G. A. Henty

Good old predictable Henty. After his decent treatment of Robert the Bruce and the Scots, I half expected him to be decently balanced in his tale of the border wars with Hotspur, Percy etc. Nope. In this the Scots are rotten scondrels and the English only raid Scotland to get their stuff back.

At one point, an English character says without a hint of irony. "Well, we just have to conquer Scotland to keep them in line."

Yeah, sure. Conquering a nation will get them to like you.

Pointless Henty tripe. Should be skipped.

Reviewed on 2017.01.03
by kveto

R.U.R.

by Karel Čapek

excellent Czech play. Most artificial future sci-fi derives from this play so it is a must read. Phillip K Dick basically ripped it off for "Do androids dream/Blade runner"

Reviewed on 2017.01.01
by kveto

The Red House Mystery

by A.A. Milne

I thought the book started a bit slow, but then it became very intriguing when the amateur self appointed detective Antony Gillingham tries to solve the mystery. There are several interesting incidents--one of my favourite being when a secret passage is found at the house, and our friends have to keep it quiet. The ending has a solution which I guarantee very few readers will have discovered. I enjoyed this book very much.

Reviewed on 2016.12.30
by Naveed Haque

A Secret of the Lebombo

by Bertram Mitford

A masterful story teller.

Reviewed on 2016.12.29
by Sean Lydon

more reviews ->

(advanced)
login | register

User ID

Password

reset password

Author of the Day

Lyle Howard
Lyle Howard has come a long way since he published his very first story in 1982. Howard mostly writes page-turners that keep the readers wanting more and Terminal Justice is no exception. As our Author of the Day, Howard reveals the secreat A-B-A-B code behind his page turners, talks about conspiracies and how Terminal Justice was inspired by a talk with a fellow passenger on a plane.
Read full interview...

SUBSCRIBE TO MANYBOOKS 

FREE EBOOKS 

Join 120,000+ fellow readers! Get Free eBooks and book bargains from ManyBooks in your inbox. 

We respect your email privacy