Recent Reviews

A Study In Scarlet

by Arthur Conan Doyle

Great book! I couldn't put it down! Nice story for a beginner.

Reviewed on 2015.10.04
by Ayoola

The Gay Adventure

by Richard Bird

What a marvelous farce! A farce in the best, classic, theatrical sense of that term: P.G. Wodehouse once described his own work as musical comedy without music, and this 1914 novel definitely meets that description. It's loads of fun!

An impecunious writer stops a runaway horse and plunges into storybook adventures on behalf of a beautiful actress. She reveals a tragic, romantic and unlikely past and enlists his aid in an international intrigue. Complications arise with the interventions of her saucy French maid, a middle-aged taxi proprietor, a henpecked churchwarden and a well-to-do waster with a bad case of ennui.

The plot, worthy of Wodehouse, keeps you turning pages to find out what happens next.

I looked up Richard Bird (1881–1965) in search of others of his works, but it appears that most of his oeuvre were boys' school stories, none of which I could find online.

Reviewed on 2015.10.02
by Leah A. Zeldes

Space Platform

by Murray Leinster

This 1953 novel holds up pretty well, if you can ignore such dated bits as space-going ashtrays, Native Americans who "speak Indian" to each other, the presumption of American supremacy and, above all, that peculiarly 1950s optimism about the future. The idea that an inexperienced but bright young man can do anything, beating the odds and the experts, is characteristic of ’50s science fiction, although it's somewhat tempered here, and at least he doesn't do it all alone.

Young Joe Kenmore of Kenmore Precision Tool Co. is accompanying equipment made by his family's firm to where they'll be installed in the Space Platform. Once launched, the platform will protect America — and the rest of the world — from nuclear attack through unilateral deterrence and serve as a launching station for star travel.

Naively, Joe's surprised to learn that the construction site has been heavily targeted by saboteurs. He's skeptical, but then somebody tries to shoot down his transport plane. And things get worse as the massive project nears completion.

Reviewed on 2015.10.02
by Leah A. Zeldes

Our Mr Wrenn

by Sinclair Lewis

A lonely little nebbish, a kind of Walter Mitty precursor, dreams of adventure and traveling the world. When he gets his opportunity, though, he finds that he's just as lonely overseas, although the experience changes him for the better. The trouble is, the book is all so very earnest. It would be better, as Thurber's later story shows, if it had more humor.

Reviewed on 2015.10.02
by Leah A. Zeldes

Jacqueline of the Carrier Pigeons

by Augusta Huiell Seaman

A historical novel about the siege of Leyden in the 16th century. The author manages to make that exciting period turgid and dull.

Reviewed on 2015.10.02
by Leah A. Zeldes

The Blower of Bubbles

by Arthur Beverley Baxter

A very poignant collection of short stories, all set during the First World War. They're not war stories in a classic sense, yet they do bring home not only the real tragedy of war, but also the way it can bring out the best in people.

Reviewed on 2015.10.02
by Leah A. Zeldes

Reel Life Films

by Sam Merwin

An easy to predict attempt at humour. Personally, I think it would be a better story if everyone died.

Reviewed on 2015.10.02
by Lisa Carr

The Jupiter Weapon

by Charles Louis Fontenay

A somewhat interesting premise, but this has got to be the most predictable book I've ever read. If you're bored, go ahead and read it. Otherwise, you won't miss a thing by skipping this one.

Reviewed on 2015.10.01
by JoJo Biggins

The K-Factor

by Harry Harrison

One of the best short stories I've read in quite a while. There's a little bit much explanation in the first half of the story, but it gets more intriguing beyond that.

The only thing I find fault with is that the story could have benefitted from more depth and more length. But, I decided not to detract from the score on that account, and simply judged it as the short story it was written to be.

Reviewed on 2015.10.01
by JoJo Biggins


by Maurice LeBlanc

There is a lot packed into this crime / mystery novel. Plots, counter-plots, suspense, treachery, surprise twists, and even a little humor. I enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended.

Reviewed on 2015.09.30
by bhold

more reviews ->

login | register

User ID


reset password

Help ManyBooks by sharing this page!

See it as donating a moment of your social media time, every little thing helps us improve and stay online.

Featured Books

Cover image for - Recent Reviews

Nefertiti's Heart

The Artifact Hunters Book 1
A.W. Exley

Cara Devon has always suffered curiosity and im... Read more

Cover image for - Recent Reviews

Astray in Couper

Matty Cruz Adventure Book 1
R. Marquez

When the economic downturn ends Matty Cruz’s co... Read more

Cover image for - Recent Reviews


Annelie Wendeberg

Our world changed - our climate, our ecosystems... Read more

Cover image for - Recent Reviews


Psionic Pentalogy Book 1
Adrian Howell

A telekinetic teenager. A telepathic child. A p... Read more

Cover image for - Recent Reviews


A Dystopian Trilogy Book 1
Peter R. Stone

A century after an apocalyptic war reduces all... Read more

Cover image for - Recent Reviews

Where Angels Tread

Kensington Family Novels Book 1
Clare Kenna

Fall in love with the Kensington siblings in th... Read more

(Promote your book here)