Recent Reviews

The Herapath Property

by J.S. Fletcher

Following the murder of a wealthy businessman, a disputed will leads to family strife and a deeper mystery.

Reviewed on 2014.11.20
by bhold

The Hero

by W. Somerset Maugham

After 5 years in India and fighting in the Boer War, the son of a disgraced army colonel returns home to his village with the Victoria Cross. He is appalled by the bigotry and narrowness of mind of his fiancée, his parents, and the townspeople.
A minor novel by Maugham with a fairly simple plot, told from the hero's point of view. Not the kind of book that endeared him to British rustics.

Reviewed on 2014.11.19
by Lisa Carr

The Elephant God

by Gordon Casserly

Here we have a remarkable tale of a superman, his super elephant, and even a super snake—the hamadryad or famed elephant-killer snake, known to pursue and drag them down before swallowing them whole.

There\'s a girl, too, but she doesn\'t quite make it into the super category, frequently needing to be rescued.

The goddess Kali is introduced as if the British know nothing about her, despite Calcutta being named after her, and the notorious Thugs being her devotees. Strange.

All in all a remarkable willingness to suspend disbelief is required to enjoy this tale. The author is particularly unrealistic in describing romance, though his magical elephants run a close second.

Reviewed on 2014.11.18
by Dai Alanye

John Enderby

by Gilbert Parker

A historical yarn about a loyal Englishman who refuses a knighthood from Charles I (he can't afford the fees for the title), and whose sense of honor forces him into exile until Cromwell takes power.
The hero of the story is an awfully good person, maybe too good to be believed. But if you like your heroes virtuous, by all means check out the story.

Reviewed on 2014.11.18
by Lisa Carr

Postsingular

by Rudy Rucker

Weird and wonderful. Writing is kind of manic, but characters and plot draw you in. I love Thuy and her Kiqqie(Homeless genius) friends. I think this one is a science fiction classic.

Reviewed on 2014.11.17
by muio1

Blindsight

by Peter Watts

I had a hard time with this book at first, because the protagonist was such an insensitive jerk (to women), but then I realized that was sort of the point and he grew on me. This book is chock filled with gems. I think one of my favorites is the approach to the gnarly alien space station. I'd recommend buying the book for that scene alone. It's rare imagination.

Reviewed on 2014.11.17
by muio1

The Vampire

by Jan Neruda

Ugh..ghoulish and silly. Not worth the time and effort to download.

Reviewed on 2014.11.16
by Kiran Khote

Doom Castle

by Neil Munro

The writing in the opening of this historical novel is so ornate that I almost put it down. Overall, in fact, it takes a bit of effort but proves worth it.

Besides fulsome descriptions and involved dialog, the author apparently assumed his readers would be educated folk, so if you've a friend who knows Gaelic, Lowland dialect, French and a bit of Latin, put him/her on speed dial.

Otherwise simply guess your way through as I did.

It's a pleasant tale with references to incidents and politics of the uprising of 1745, covering some of the same events as Stevenson's Kidnapped and Catriona.

[I leave all ratings at 3]

Reviewed on 2014.11.15
by Dai Alanye

Captain Richard Ingle

by Edward Ingle

An interesting perspective on the deeds of R. Ingle. This short book looks in to the historical documents from the early days of Maryland, to extract the truth behind the actions and accusations of R. Ingle and supports the idea that he was acting on a higher authority as this was the period in England when the Catholics were at odds with the Protestants, hence forth the reason so many Protestants came to the new world, including many of my own ancestors.
Greg B.

Reviewed on 2014.11.15
by Greg B.

Mystery of the Yellow Room

by Gaston Leroux

The story had a nicely conceived plot that successfully delivered the ironic twist that it promised from the beginning. The writing style required a higher reading level, which is nice. At the end of the story, take note that it hints at (but never says) who Rouletabille's parents are, which goes toward explaining some of his behavior toward the principals.

Over-all, I give it one less than the full five stars only because the explanation of the mystery, though clever, is highly improbable. Still an enjoyable read, though.

Reviewed on 2014.11.15
by M. Patterson

more reviews ->