Recent Reviews

The Indulgence of Negu Mah

by Robert Andrew Arthur

Such Indulgence! Very clever,sensual and thought provoking. With a very clever twist at the end. It's a quick read, you'll enjoy it!

Reviewed on 2014.10.22
by Foster Dexing

The Safety Pin

by J.S. Fletcher

Not one of Fletcher's better efforts.

1) The motive for the crime is extremely unlikely. 2) The "flash of insight" that reveals the criminal requires deduction that would challenge Sherlock Holmes on his best day. 3) Some critical loose ends are left unresolved. "My own reasons" and "Never mind why" do not enlighten the reader - and would certainly not satisfy the police.

It is a decent story but at the end of a good mystery there should be a sense of completeness and resolution - not so here.

Reviewed on 2014.10.22
by bhold

Ring Once for Death

by Robert Andrew Arthur

Great story. Short but so eerily sweet. Reminds me very much of The Monkey's Paw short story we read back in high school. And the moral is the same: be careful what you wish for, you might get it! A quick delightful read. Enjoy

Reviewed on 2014.10.22
by Foster Dexing

A Slave Girl's Story

by Kate Drumgoold

An account that is almost impossible to read. The author was 3 when the Civil War ended and her family emigrated North. I think.
Time is not linear in this book. Her mother and brother die in the first chapter, only to appear again and die again, then appear again. There is no way to tell where she is in her story at any time. It it not stream-of-consciousness, it is simply bad writing. The word "lovely" is worn to death.
The most grating part of the book is that easily half of each page is a testimony to Jesus, usually in the same words, over and over.

Reviewed on 2014.10.21
by Lisa Carr

My Friend The Murderer

by Arthur Conan Doyle

An Australian prison doctor makes friends with a notorious prisoner who was part of a murderous gang, then ratted out his fellow gang members. Surprisingly little happens, there is no mystery. The daily newspaper is more interesting.

Reviewed on 2014.10.21
by Lisa Carr

The Poor Clare

by Elizabeth Gaskell

A beautiful story illustrating that your curse returns to you three times.
In the late 1700s, a lawyer is hired to find the heir to an Irish estate. He meets a variety of pleasant and fearful people, comes up against superstition, religious conflicts, wars and poverty only to keep finding dead ends. He meets an odd girl who is good and kind, but who has a demonic and ghostly twin that haunts her.
The lawyer's backstory, which opens the piece could have been shorter, but the plotting is twisting and absorbing, the characters real and distinct, and the descriptions are sharp.
Recommended to anyone who likes good writing.

Reviewed on 2014.10.20
by Paulo Respighi

Project Hush

by Philip Klass

A funny little story by William Tenn about an army project that is so secret that it sort of gets lost.
Very short. A bit predictable.

Reviewed on 2014.10.20
by Lisa Carr

The Phantom of Bogue Holauba

by Mary Noailles Murfree

A rather mild ghost story, set in pre-Civil War Louisiana. The whites do nothing, the slaves are superstitious, and the terrible secret that stuns and disturbs the cousin and doctor is rather underwhelming.
The writing is okay, but at the end of the story, I was a little teed off that I hadn't been doing something else instead.

Reviewed on 2014.10.19
by Lisa Carr

The Inner Shrine

by Basil King

A romance in the pride and prejudice style, without the humour, and an awful lot of pride and prejudice.
Set in France and America, I enjoyed the first half but the end seemed rather convoluted.

Reviewed on 2014.10.18
by cindy

Scarhaven Keep

by J.S. Fletcher

This is another well-written Fletcher mystery. Fletcher usually develops his plots around some interesting characters and settings, this book is no exception. I enjoyed the unexpected revelation at the end of the book.

Reviewed on 2014.10.17
by bhold

more reviews ->