Recent Reviews

Below Zero

by Ellis Parker Butler

Interesting and creative fiction about a WWI attack by the Germans on New York City. (It was actually published 1918, not 1908 as stated on the site)

Reviewed on 2015.06.24
by gibel

The Power of Concentration

by Theron Q. Dumont

I love all his books,his way of writing is clear and bold.He shows tremendous energy in what he says.
knowledge and experience give such confidence.
great book this too.

Reviewed on 2015.06.23
by Master bharat

Billy Brad and the Forbidden Fruit

by Ellis Parker Butler

A story about a problem child who got whipped for telling a lie which he did not tell. He did deserve the punishment though. I didnít find the story entertaining or worthwhile and Iím not sure why it's still here a hundred years after being written.

Reviewed on 2015.06.23
by gibel

FantŰmas

by Pierre Souvestre

The brilliant French Dective Juve theorizes that a series of high profile robberies and murders are all the doing of one brilliant criminal - Fantomas. But can he prove it in a court of law? And before he even tries Juve must answer two additional questions. Does Fantomas even exist? And if so, how can he be located and captured?

PS - about the "hot wine salad" in the Saint-Anthony's Pig saloon. I don't speak French but a bit of googling tells me that "hot wine salad" is better translated as "bowl of warm wine". I don't know why this bothered me but the thought of these people enjoying hot wine salad would have seemed out of character.

Reviewed on 2015.06.23
by bhold

A Night Out

by Edward Peple

The purebred Persian cat of a Wall Street shyster meets an alley cat who shows him the streets. A fairly funny account from the cats' point of view. The characters of the cats are well-done. You won't learn any secrets to human existence, but it's entertaining.

Reviewed on 2015.06.23
by Lisa Carr

Vicky Van

by Carolyn Wells

A fairly engrossing detective/mystery story about a woman who disappears from a murder scene, seemingly into thin air. For a change, the police as well as detective are portrayed as normal characters and the mystery unravels gradually instead of stretching out to the very end.

Reviewed on 2015.06.22
by Keiran Khote

The Sound of His Horn

by Sarban

A tensely-written tale that is a good companion to The Man in the High Castle. Should be better known.

Reviewed on 2015.06.20
by Dai Alanye

Number Seventeen

by Louis Tracy

It's one of the earliest Tracy's books.
The writing isn't as nimble as in his later novels and the main character is a bit too much lovesick for my taste.
The worst of the book are the lengthy and reiterative explanations with which the personages fill the pages, in most cases, needlessly.
The plot isn't very solid, doesn't create many expectations finishes in somewhat hurried and unconvincing manner.
The strong points are: a pleasant narrative atmosphere, noble feelings, some good humouristic moments and at least two interesting personages.

Reviewed on 2015.06.19
by Lena

Dead Souls

by Nikolai Gogol

Very enjoyable and humorous treatment of period life and excellent character/plot development although a little verbose in places. Be warned that in the second section there are significant gaps apparently missing from the manuscript used for translation. Nothing that can't be filled by logic but very annoying.

Reviewed on 2015.06.18
by Ross

Delver Magic I: Sanctum's Breach

by Jeff Inlo

I read the wholw series in just 8 days and fell in love with all the characters. Its certainly great for a light read. The story could have been a lot better if Bannaat was involved more, Holli could use more magic and The Sword of Decree could reveal another power :D
All in all, i loved this book.

Reviewed on 2015.06.18
by Sunit

more reviews ->