Recent Reviews

The Golden Judge

by Nathaniel Gordon

Unique premise. Stupid story.

Reviewed on 2014.09.11
by JoJo Biggins

Love-at-Arms

by Rafael Sabatini

A good romance with a happy ending. I enjoyed variety of characters in the book and the hero’s positive attitude throughout the story.

Reviewed on 2014.09.11
by gibel

Promotion

by Perceval Gibbon

When the captain of a sailing ship is accidently killed enroute from New York to San Francisco, the officers all promote a step, and an unwilling seaman is promoted to an officer, second mate. But how do you turn a seaman, used to taking orders, into an officer, who has to give orders? And quickly?
Good plotting and characterizations, and enough description and explanation that a non-nautical reader can enjoy the story.
No women in the story (they're bad luck.)

Reviewed on 2014.09.11
by Lisa Carr

Ship-Bored

by Julian Street

A rather arch account of a sea crossing on a British passenger liner. It's similar to Mark Twain's travelogues, with the humor less subtle, and many slang words and references to century-old fads that date the thing a bit. But it has some funny observations from a stuffy and cynical observer.

Reviewed on 2014.09.11
by Lisa Carr

The Golden Amazons of Venus

by John Murray Reynolds

While the "science" portion of this story is both childish and outlandish, it is nevertheless entertaining to read. I skipped over many portions of boring descriptions, but the author kept me wanting to read on. The ending is stupid and trite, so don't look for a lot of satisfaction there.

Reviewed on 2014.09.10
by JoJo Biggins

Bunyip Land

by George Manville Fenn

The Daily Chronicle seems at fault in its assessment. Bunyip Land is too naive for late teens and adults, I would say, but perhaps adequate for younger lads. not sure that girls of any age would care for it.

Fenn can write, so perhaps that's the market he was going after.

Reviewed on 2014.09.10
by Dai Alanye

Queen of the Black Coast

by Robert E. Howard

In this short story Conan has barely escaped pursuers after his court appearance does not go well (he kills the judge). Attempting escape by sea, he is quickly captured by a beautiful pirate queen. Plenty of pulpy action follows.

Reviewed on 2014.09.10
by bhold

Gold in the Sky

by Alan Nourse

A well-written story about the quest for star travel. Just enough action and intrigue to keep it interesting. Amazing that this story was written back in the 50's since most stories from that era were drivel. Very, very, very refreshing not to have to deal with foul language.

Reviewed on 2014.09.09
by JoJo Biggins

Richard III

by William Shakespeare

I like reading!!!!!!!!!!!
I adore!!!!!!!!
I can't live without it!!!!!!!

Reviewed on 2014.09.09
by Kate

The Ghost Pirates

by William Hope Hodgson

Beautiful descriptive writing of the crew, ship, and ominous nautical scenes - although the ghost story itself is only fairly good.

Reviewed on 2014.09.09
by bhold

more reviews ->