Free and Discounted Ebooks
Join 150,000 readers! Get our ebook deals straight to your inbox.

Recent Reviews

The Great Auto Mystery

by Jacques Futrelle

Fun short story from a bygone age with rich society types, automobiles and road inns that supply petrol as a sideline, presumably before petrol stations existed.

Reviewed on 2017.07.22
by Matthew Laxton

Taking Chances

by Ann Omasta

Great storyline and amazing sex scenes. Can't wait to read more.

Reviewed on 2017.07.21
by Tina

The Secret Adversary

by Agatha Christie

This early Christie is a good example of her early style, rambunctious and unsophisticated. As in The Man in the Brown Suit, this rollicking tale abounds in the most unexpected coincidences and improbabilities, which she became more reticent to use as her style developed. A fun read, nevertheless.

Reviewed on 2017.07.21
by Paul Lillebo

The Woman in White

by Wilkie Collins

Excellent prose not withstanding, the book was infinitely longer than it needed to be, with some parts staggeringly boring. Collins also attempts to subvert our imagination by being overly descriptive about the most mundane subjects, yet becoming very vague with others. Add to that the convolution of what was already an uninteresting plot, and you have the makings of, at best, a mediocre story. My understanding is that this story was serialized at the time of its release. That may have altered my perception of the overall story.

As for some of the characters-I'm not that familiar with the customs of the Brits during that time period, but the first part of the book seemed to have an undercurrent of lesbianism between Marian and Laura. Maybe it was customary of loving sisters at the time, but their touchy, feely, lip-locky behavior would likely be seen differently today. Not making any criticisms on that front; it was probably all that Collins could get away with in 1850. It also seemed that Laura was perhaps as feeble minded as Anne, just less noticeable, given her very different upbringing. Ultimately, she knew she had to marry a man though, as society required, but Marian would always be there-always.

One last thing: Did Walt ever go back to court on that assault thing? Again, such a convoluted story maybe I missed that.

Reviewed on 2017.07.20
by taucan62

Concerning the Spiritual in Art

by Wassily Kandinsky

Some inspiring words, no doubt, but rather verbose. It seems that all of the valuable information contained might have comfortably fit sixty pages instead of ninety.

Reviewed on 2017.07.19
by Brocaroc

Evidence

by Murray Leinster

Short and superb. A must read.

Reviewed on 2017.07.18
by Mayura

The Putnam Tradition

by Sonya Hess Dorman

What an utter waste of time. I don't see how the prior reviewer got anything out of this, and to say the ending was dazzling - he must have been on serious illicit stimulants.

This is a story in which NOTHING HAPPENS.

Reviewed on 2017.07.18
by JoJo Biggins

Pygmalion's Spectacles

by Stanley Grauman Weinbaum

An entertaining story, but way too trite an ending. A young man is totally immersed in a full-sensory "movie". He returns to reality, and heartache...and hope.

Reviewed on 2017.07.18
by JoJo Biggins

The Monster Men

by Edgar Rice Burroughs

I would have suggested an alternate ending to ERB if I could have. He WAS a monster, they get married, have a kid and it comes out looking like number 10. Try and live that one down doc.

Reviewed on 2017.07.16
by taucan62

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

by Arthur Conan Doyle

Loved it, however, after initially bringing up Holmes' vices, it never factored into any of the cases. Would have been an interesting twist.

Reviewed on 2017.07.16
by taucan62

more reviews ->

(advanced)
login | register

User ID

Password

reset password

SUBSCRIBE TO MANYBOOKS 

FREE EBOOKS 

Join 150,000+ fellow readers! Get Free eBooks and book bargains from ManyBooks in your inbox. 

We respect your email privacy