Recent Reviews

Adrift in a Boat

by W.H.G. Kingston

I am a sea adventure fan and have read several Collingwood, Farnol and Sabatini stuff. But Kingston has his own style of descriptive writing. He will take you in to time giving every detail of Victorian scene and its sea life. I recommend his books for the sea lovers.

Reviewed on 2015.02.26
by rajan

Trail's End

by George W. Ogden

Calvin Morgan, a former cowhand, and lately, former professor of agriculture arrives in the wildest cow town on the prairie. He is looking for land to grow wheat.
This book has it all. A great plot with plenty of actions and strong characters that carry the author's theme of stoic honor and honesty.

Reviewed on 2015.02.26
by Larry

The Dream Doctor

by Arthur B. Reeve

Interesting testimony to the early days of forensic science.
As I have only a vague recollection of my school physics, the first two
episodes were totally lost on me.
All the episodes have to do with physichal or chemical sciences and many of them were comprehensible even to me. Nonetheless, if your interest in science is zero, you won't find the read too exciting, as it evolves
around the devices that the main character uses to solve the crimes, while the crimes themselves and the characters are only secondary in the
narrative.
But some of the scientific methods are curious both in themselves and as
surviving in the modern forensics, and their variety is impressive.
There is even a reference to Tesla's first idea of the alternative current.

Reviewed on 2015.02.26
by Lena

A Mysterious Disappearance

by Louis Tracy

Instead of Tracy's earlier sleuth, Reggie Brett, the barrister/detective in this engrossing mystery is Claude Bruce. He's just as clever as Brett and just as amused at the bungling single-mindedness of Scotland Yard, but less self-confident and not so inclined to Sherlock Holmes-style deductions.

The case involves a friend of his, Sir Charles Dyke, whose wife has unaccountably disappeared — coincidentally, just after Bruce himself encountered her at a train station. What became of her? Bruce thinks she's dead. He follows many twists and turns before discovering the truth.

Tracy throws out clues and red herrings with abandon. Have fun!

Reviewed on 2015.02.26
by Leah A. Zeldes

Poison Island

by Arthur Thomas Quiller-Couch

Well-conceived (mostly,) well-plotted (mostly,) and well-written. Distinctive and interesting characters, and a young hero with a penchant for attracting trouble to himself and others.

A melodramatic ending left something to be desired but otherwise a fine read. Strongly recommended.

Reviewed on 2015.02.26
by Dai Alanye

L'Avare

by Molière

J'aime la littérature!

Reviewed on 2015.02.25
by Doo Willisson

The Snowball

by Stanley J. Weyman

A story about plotters trying to assassinate King Henry of France in the 1600s. It appears to be part of a memoir of one of the king's ministers--a middle part, in that it refers to things that the reader already knows about.
It isn't exactly edge-of-the-seat stuff, and, from this piece by itself, it's hard to tell if the reader should want the king assassinated or not. I didn't care one way or the other.
The writing is good, but the story is a bit hard to decipher.

Reviewed on 2015.02.25
by Lisa Carr

The Tale of Mark the Bunny

by Lewis Shiner

A story of community cooperation in times of adversity as acted out by rabbits. It's actually quite well done, suitable for children, with some ironic wordplay sprinkled in to amuse adults.
The bunnies have distinct characters, and the plot has enough twists to keep it interesting.

Reviewed on 2015.02.25
by Lisa Carr

The House of Whispers

by William le Queux

I have a prejudice against novels that reveal the bad guys at the outset, unless there's plenty of action. This one moves slowly, with lots of exposition not essential to the plot. Moreover, the heroine — for all we're told she's clever and learned — is a nitwit, and most of the other characters dull, unsympathetic and unrealistic.

The young woman, the mainstay of her blind, but very rich father, is being blackmailed, and behaves stupidly about it. Her father, an important politician before losing his sight, an eminent antiquarian and supposedly brilliantly (if mysteriously) still transacting business worth a fortune, despite his handicap, is nevertheless presented as a wretched, helpless, self-pitying old man, who is readily taken in by lies about his devoted and previously beloved daughter, while never believing any ugly tales about his wife.

Nobody except his perfidious wife (the evil stepmother) and the principal villain ever seems to take advantage of the old man's enormous wealth, and though we're told the latter has some hold over her, too, we're never told what it is. Really an unsatisfactory book.

Reviewed on 2015.02.24
by Leah A. Zeldes

The Albert Gate Mystery

by Louis Tracy

Reggie Brett, barrister turned detective, is on the job again in this thoroughly excellent mystery/thriller. This time he's on the trail of a murderous group of diamond thieves and a missing Foreign Office secretary, which takes him from London to Paris, Marseilles and Palermo. I liked this one even more than the first Brett book, "The Stowmarket Mystery." The criminals are clever, the stakes are high and the action rapid and exciting.

Reviewed on 2015.02.24
by Leah A. Zeldes

more reviews ->