The Lunatic at Large

Published: 1899
Language: English
Wordcount: 52,466 / 161 pg
Flesch-Kincaid Reading Ease: 85.7
LoC Category: PS
Series: Lunatic
Downloads: 1,047
Added to site: 2007.01.31
mnybks.net#: 15953
Genre: Humor
Advertisement
Excerpt

ut I'll do just as well. I suppose he's certified, and all that.'

" 'Oh, it's all right,' said the man, rather as though he expected me to say that it wasn't. He looked a little doubtful what to do, and then I heard some one inside the cab call him. He stuck his head in the window and they confabbed for a minute, and then he turned to me and said, with the most magnificent air you ever saw, like a chap buying a set of diamond studs, 'My friend here is a great personal friend of Dr Congleton, and it's a damned---- I mean it's an uncommonly delicate matter. We must see him.'

" 'Well, if you insist, I'll see if I can get him,' I said; 'but you'd better come in and wait.'

"So the Johnnie opened the door of the cab, and there was a great hauling and pushing, my friend pulling an arm from the outside, and the doctor shoving from within, and at last they fetched out their patient. He was a tall man, in a very smart-looking, long, light top-coat, and a cap with a large peak shoved over his eyes,

Reviews

Add a review for this title.
Average Rating of 4.8 from 4 reviews: *****
2013.11.11
Henry L. Ratliff
*****

(1899) Humor (Zany)


R: * * * * *


Plot bullets


  • A man wakes up in a insane asylum.

  • He can\'t remember much, even his name.

  • He was brought in the middle of the night, and it looks like there is a conspiracy going on.

  • The man must break out, and aided by a pretty girl, he does so. Now what? He is free, but not really free.

  • He takes up with a visiting German nobleman.

  • He is at large and no one can fail to say that he acts like a lunatic.

  • A lunatic he may look, but he is clever and does all he can to find out who he is and why things have turned out as the have done.


I find this story to be in the tradition of J. K. Bangs or J. K. Jerome.

2011.09.07
gibel
****.

Very fun story! Adventure and laughs on every page. This was the first book by Clouston I have read, and am inspired to read his others.

2011.05.28
Im Cheungjun
*****

One of the best modern picaresque novels. The author Clouston, though obscure, is a great craftsman. Recently I read THE MAN FROM THE CLOUDS, SIMON, THE SPY IN BLACK, and all of them are great reads.

2007.04.20
Ronald Smyth
*****

This is a very funny book. The author has a clear mastery of language that allows him to express things in a manner that is polished, elegant and sophisticated. I am looking forward to reading the next volume in the series, Count Bunker. Highly recommended.


Cover image for

Download


show mobile phone QR code

Donate a small amount via Paypal below or read about some other ways that you can support ManyBooks.