She

Published: 1886
Language: English
Wordcount: 111,776 / 298 pg
Flesch-Kincaid Reading Ease: 70.9
LoC Category: PR
Series: Ayesha
Downloads: 15,661
mnybks.net#: 3131
Origin: gutenberg.org
Buy new from: Amazon or Barnes & Noble
Find it used: eBay or AbeBooks
Get as AudioBook: Audible or AudioBooks.com
Advertisement

The adventures of an expedition to an unexplored part of East Africa, where the group finds Ayesha, a beautiful and immortal sorceress who claims the expedition's leader is the reincarnation of her long-dead beloved. Ayesha had become ageless and perfectly beautiful more than 2 millennia earlier by immersing herself in a magic flame, and pressures the expedition leader to immerse himself as well.

Show Excerpt

e. Now listen to me as you have never listened to anybody before; for you will not have the opportunity of getting me to repeat my words. We have been friends for two years; now tell me how much do you know about me?"

"I know that you are rich, and have had a fancy to come to College long after the age that most men leave it. I know that you have been married, and that your wife died; and that you have been the best, indeed almost the only friend I ever had."

"Did you know that I have a son?"

"No."

"I have. He is five years old. He cost me his mother's life, and I have never been able to bear to look upon his face in consequence. Holly, if you will accept the trust, I am going to leave you that boy's sole guardian."

I sprang almost out of my chair. "Me!" I said.

"Yes, you. I have not studied you for two years for nothing. I have known for some time that I could not last, and since I realised the fact I have been searching for some one to whom I could confide

Reviews

Add a review for this title.
Average Rating of 4.8 from 10 reviews: *****
2013.10.17
Alan
*****

I read this book years ago when I was a boy, and found it fascinating,. I was a teenager when the movie came out and was absolutly besotted with Ursula Andress as "SHE" I thought, and still do, that she was stunningly beautiful and although did not look like the description- as I remember it- from the book. She ceratinly looked like a Godess.

2012.02.28
Md. Nazmul Hasan
****.

Inexplicably imaginative, exclusively unique, absolutely esoteric and remarkably artistic a novel it is. Be it the elegance of literary language or exotic touch of creativity in the plot, undoubtedly the novel excels in both of them.
The sublimity of feminine beauty was heightened to a new position by Ayesha, although, I think she did not deserve such a hideous destiny at the end, however it is a subjective opinion, and can be put aside in the assessment of the novel. Indeed, Ayesha with her exquisite gracefulness and mystic character, I got so attached to her, that my heart was ruptured by her ghastly destiny at the end.

2012.02.04
Paul Hatton
*****

Read this finally a few months back after being a fan of the movie with Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee (not to mention Ursula Andress as 'She') Book even better than the film, although not for those who are committed to political correctness as many of the ideas and descriptions are very much of the time. An excellent read and great introduction to the works of Rider Haggard

2012.02.02
Petros
*****

I am in the middle of completing this magnificent book, it surely depicts the motive that novelists afterwards followed in order to create new wave characters and adventures nowdays... Just marvellous.

2010.07.07
Brandon
*****

I had sort of a personal interest in reading this because my grandmother was named after one of its characters (Ustane). The novel holds up very well even by modern standards, and it's interesting to see how many conventions of the adventure and fantasy genres were established here.

2010.06.30
amanda
*****

i read this book last year... its great...the best novel i ever read..Leo..Ayesha... Holly...Usthane.... i love all charactors... its gerat..

In my younger days I would have read this told my friends about it and then I would have read every H. Rider Haggard book that could be found bought or traded for.

As an adult - still a good tale and a worthwhile read

2007.03.28
R Stephan
*****

Great Lost World/Gothic adventure.

2006.03.04
Steven
*****

I read this book 10 years ago, chinese verson, I am a Chinese. I really like this book. Very surprised I can find SHE of English version, and AYESHA, which I want to read but can not find. I will read them again.

2005.02.23
Richard LaPlante
*****

I read this book years ago (25) and have been thinking of reading it again lately. This is a great adventure story in the vein of "Indiana Jones" or "King Solomon's Mines" with some great twists. I highly recommend this story to those who enjoy this genre. I am particularly excited to see it available in this format.


Cover image for

Download


show mobile phone QR code

Donate a small amount via Paypal below or read about some other ways that you can support ManyBooks.