Books Like Burning Water

Books Like Burning Water

Police procedurals are always thrilling to read, but mixing in some paranormal elements usually ramps up the tension even more. This is the case with Burning Water by Mercedes Lackey, a novel that features a Dallas Police Detective who teams up with a romance novel writing witch to track down a serial killer. Individually the two don't stand a chance against the dangers that they face, but by combining modern science and ancient magics they improve their odds of survival. If you are a fan of police procedurals that combine the ordinary with the extraordinary then check out the following books like Burning Water.

Rivers of London

by Ben Aaronovitch

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch is the first novel in the series of the same name. It follows the story of Peter Grant, who went from being a probationary constable in the Metropolitan Police Service to a Detective Constable and trainee wizard. His promotion came as a result of Peter trying to get a witness statement from a ghost, which catches the attention of the last wizard in England, Inspector Nightingale. There hasn't been an English apprentice wizard in many, many years, so Peter has his work cut out for him. Peter also has to learn how to deal with his new cases that are now filled with magic and the supernatural. This paranormal police procedural has been well received by readers and Peter continues to get caught up in all kinds of adventures throughout the eight books in the series.

Snake Agent

by Liz Williams

Snake Agent by Liz Williams

Snake Agent is the first novel in the Detective Inspector Chen series by Liz Williams. Detective Inspector Wei Chen is a cop but lives a very extraordinary life. Not only does his jurisdiction lie between this world and the next, but he's his wife is actually a demon, so he knows a thing or two about the paranormal. In this novel, the parents of a deceased fourteen-year-old girl turn to Chen. After their daughter died of anorexia her soul is lured to the gates of hell by an unknown force where she could face eternal banishment. It is up to Chen to find her soul, but he quickly discovers that it is harder getting out of hell than in. To succeed Chen has to join forces with his counterpart in Hell, a Vice Detective named Zhu Irzh.

Every Dead Thing

by John Connolly

Every Dead Thing by John Connolly

Every Dead Thing is the first novel in the very popular Charlie Parker series, which already spans 18 books. Charlie is an ex-cop with the NYPD who is tormented and wracked with guilt over the death of his wife and daughter. However, while the unsolved slayings of his family play an important role in the story, it's not the primary focus. Charlie also becomes involved with tracking down a missing girl at the behest of his former partner. Things take a sinister turn when Charlie discovers that the same serial killer, called "The Travelling Man" who took his family from him might be involved in the disappearance of the girl.

Daughter of the Sword

by Steve Bein

Daughter of the Sword by Steve Bein

Daughter of the Sword by Steve Bein is the first novel in the Fated Blades series. It stars Mariko Oshiro, the only female detective in Tokyo's most elite police unit. It's a position that requires Mariko to fight for any respect, but her new boss still ends up giving her the least desirable cases, such as the heft of an old samurai sword. Mariko is not impressed by him moving her from the narcotics squad against her will. However, when Mariko begins her investigation she discovers that it is more dangerous than she could ever have imagined. Not only was the blade forged by a legendary master whose blades are rumored to have magical qualities, but whoever stole it already owns a similar blade with deadly powers. What started out as a simple investigation given to her just to get her out of the way soon turns into something very deadly, especially when centuries-old curses are thrown into the mix.

Graveyard Shift

by Michael F. Haspil

Graveyard Shift by Michael F. Haspil

Graveyard Shift by Michael F. Haspil features Alex and Marcus, two partners in a special police unit. They are tasked with keeping the streets safe from supernatural criminals along with anti-vampire vigilantes. However, Alex and Marcus are far from ordinary themselves. Marcus is a vampire who once lived in the time of Caesar while Alex is a mummy who once ruled as pharaoh. The two of them have their hands full when someone begins poisoning the artificial blood that vampires use to stay alive. This places a serious strain on human/vampire relations and pushes the city to the brink of anarchy. To prevent an all-out war the police due will have to form a few unnatural alliances, but even success might mean becoming pariahs that are hunted by everyone that they are trying to save.

Broken Monsters

by Lauren Beukes

Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes

One of the protagonists of Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes is Detective Gabriella Versado. Although she has seen plenty of bodies during her time on the force her latest case involves something far stranger. The victim appears to be half boy, and half deer, but it's just the start of the disturbing bodies that begin to turn up. Broken Monsters is also the story of Gabriella's teenage daughter, Layla, who engages in dangerous activities online. Other characters who find themselves caught up in the mysterious events happening in the city include a homeless man and a freelance journalist.

Rosalind Tate - Time Travel, Adventure and Heroic Dogs
FEATURED AUTHOR - Rosalind Tate is the author of "The Shorten Chronicles" -- the exciting new romantic, time-travel series featuring Sophie Arundel and her dog, Charlotte. Rosalind has a tolerant husband and two utterly gorgeous dogs. As our Author of the Day, she tells us all about her book, Stranded. Please give us a short introduction to what Stranded is about. The idea came into my head a few years ago when I was watching Downton Abbey on TV. How would a modern girl cope (or not) if she found herself in a… Read more