Books like The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison

Books like The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison

There can be no denying the popularity of crime thrillers and books about serial killers continue to captivate readers. One of the books that caused waves in recent years is The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison. Her story about the twisted "Gardener" who kidnapped young women and collected them like butterflies is a dark and disturbing tale with many twists and turns that few readers could put down. It is also a book that left plenty of readers wanting more, so if you are one of them, check out these other books like The Butterfly Garden.

The Roses of May (The Collector Book 2)

by Dot Hutchison

The Roses of May (The Collector Book 2) by Dot Hutchison

The good news if you are a fan of The Butterfly Garden is that is actually part of a four book series, with The Roses of May being the second book. Unfortunately, while it is set in the same universe as The Butterfly Garden and some of the same characters make an appearance, it is not a direct sequel. Instead, the focus of The Roses of May is a different killer who have already killed numerous girls. The rest of the books in this series is The Summer Children and The Vanishing Season, which all feature more of the authors engaging writing style.

The Collector

by John Fowles

The Collector by John Fowles

The Collector by John Fowles is another thriller that features a character who collects butterflies. In this novel, it is a town clerk, named Frederick, who leads a lonely life until he develops an obsession with a young college student, named Miranda. It reaches a point where Frederick kidnaps Miranda and plans on keeping her in his basement. The Collector also uses the technique of conveying the story from the perspective of both the kidnapper and his victim, which makes it even more compelling.

Hush

by Anne Frasier

Hush by Anne Frasier

Hush by Anne Frasier features a particularly chilling killer, dubbed the Madonna Murderer, as they prey on newborn baby boys and their unwed mothers. Ivy Dunlap, a criminal profiler, makes a living from developing psychological portraits of suspects after losing her own son to the Madonna Murderer almost two decades ago. The killer was never caught, but when he returns, it is up to Ivy to help stop him, provided she can overcome her own fears.

The Butcher

by Jennifer Hillier

The Butcher by Jennifer Hillier

In The Butcher by Jennifer Hillier, a serial killer known as the "Beacon Hill Butcher" spreads fear across Seattle until he is finally found and killed by the police chief, Edward Shank. Thirty years later, the retired chief gives over his large Victorian house to Matt, the grandson he helped raise on the property. However, Matt uncovers a very dark family secret while doing some renovations on the house. Meanwhile, his girlfriend is also convinced that her mother was killed by the Beacon Hill Butcher, despite her death occurring after the killer was long dead.

Twisted

by Andrew Kaufman

Twisted by Andrew Kaufman

The aptly titled "Twisted" by Andrew Kaufman is another crime thriller that is perfect for readers who like to have their minds blown. The protagonist is Christopher Kellan a doctor working at the Loveland Psychiatric Hospital. The unit he oversees is home to some of the worst killers imaginable, so Christopher thinks that he has pretty much seen it all. However, his world is turned upside down with the arrival of Donny Ray, a man charged with the crime of murdering ten young girls and then making their bodies vanish. Christopher is surprised to discover that Donny not only looks familiar, but that the man also appears to know more about him than he should.

Perfect Days: A Novel

by Raphael Montes

Perfect Days: A Novel by Raphael Montes

Perfet Days is the English language debut of a celebrated Brazilian crime writer named Raphael Montes. In this novel, he weaves the tale of Teo Avelor, who is a loner living in Rio de Janeiro with his mother and her dog. Teo develops an obsession with an aspiring screenwriter named Clarice, who he begins to stalk. When his attempts to woe her fails, Teo resorts to kidnapping Clarice and taking her on a road trip across Brazil in a twisted interpretation of the romantic screenplay she was working on. He is convinced that she will fall for him if he holds her captive long enough, but needless to say, things don't turn out quite as planned.

17 & Gone

by Nova Ren Suma

17 & Gone by Nova Ren Suma

17 & Gone by Nova Ren Suma is about a seventeen-year old girl named Lauren who have visions of girls her own age, all of whom have gone missing without a trace. Lauren has no idea why she sees these girls as even their own families have given up hope of ever finding them again. This turns into an obsession for Lauren as she tries to discover what really happened to the girls and if she can actually save some of them. However, not everything is as it seems and while things might not turn out like readers expect, the story is still very thrilling.

Pretty Girls Dancing

by Kylie Brant

Pretty Girls Dancing by Kylie Brant

In Pretty Girls Dancing by Kylie Brant a young teen vanishes after deciding to meet up with a boy she met on Facebook. Her disappearance is eerily similar to that of another teen who vanished seven years earlier. The case also opens old wounds for the family of the first girl as it seems that a serial killer could be behind the disappearances. The story is told from revolving viewpoints and Pretty Girls Dancing features enough thrilling twists and turns to keep readers turning the pages.