Books Like The Da Vinci Code

Books Like The Da Vinci Code

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown may not be the most historical or scientifically accurate of novels, but this hasn't prevented it from becoming an international bestseller. The book also stirred up a lot of controversy due to the religious content that it contains. The Da Vinci Code was published in 2003 and follows the adventures of a symbologist and cryptologist who become embroiled in a battle between a secret society and an institution of the Catholic Church. The book became such a hit for Brown that the only other novel that managed to sell more copies in 2003 was a Harry Potter title by J. K. Rowling. It also went on to receive a film adaptation in 2006, which starred Tom Hanks and Audrey Tautou. If you are one of the people who got caught up in the mysteries of this story and have a hankering for more mysteries and thrills, then take a look at the following books like The Da Vinci Code.

Angels and Demons (Robert Langdon Book 1)

by Dan Brown

angelsdem

Although The Da Vinci Code was the first introduction many readers had to the character of Robert Langdon, it wasn't the first book in which he starred. That honor goes to Angels & Demons, which was published in 2000. As it is from the same author as The Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons feature plenty of similarities, such as secret societies, symbology, architecture and the Catholic Church. In this book, Robert Langdon investigates the murder of a physicist at CERN and the disappearance of a canister that contains antimatter. It appears that the Illuminati is involved in this and that their plan is to wipe out the Vatican with the antimatter. Although released before The Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons received a film adaptation in 2009, after the release of the movie based on the second book. 

The Book of Blood and Shadow

by Robin Wasserman

bloodshadow

The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman is deal for The Da Vinci Code fans who can't get enough of shadowy conspirators and secret societies. The protagonist of this tale is Nora Kane, a research assistant who works at a university with her boyfriend Max and best friend Chris. It's not the most glamorous job, but her ability to translate Latin does reveal some interesting things. However, things go very wrong one night when Chris is murdered and Nora's boyfriend goes missing. It is up to Nora to solve the mystery before she becomes a victim herself.

Mona Lisa's Secret

by Phil Philips

secret

Mona Lisa's Secret by Phil Philips has been described as The Da Vinci Code meets Indiana Jones, which makes this historical art theft mystery a great fit for fans of Dan Brown. It's about a man named Joey, who is the great-grandson of the man who stole the original Mona Lisa in 1911. Joey is shocked to discover the original painting in his father's secret room, but there are people who are desperate to get it back and they are not afraid to hold Joey's girlfriend hostage to accomplish this. Things become even more complicated when Joey discovers that the painting actually contains a few hidden secrets that could change the world forever if it ever becomes public knowledge.

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

by Stieg Larson

dragontattoo

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo was originally published in Swedish during 2005 before the English version was released in 2008. Just like The Da Vinci Code, this book features a murder mystery at its center and some unlikely protagonists who become embroiled in it. The girl to which the title refers is a 24 year old computer hacker with a personal life that can best be described as complicated. Her partner in the investigation is a disgraced journalist who is on the verge of losing his business magazine after a libel case against him. While these two characters appear to have very little in common, they must work together to solve a disappearance that occurred 40 years ago, but in the process they uncover a few secrets that put their own lives at risk.

The Genesis Code

by John Case

genesisc

The Genesis Code by John Case features murders, mysteries, dangerous religious orders, dark secrets and many other elements that has also made The Da Vinci Code such a big hit with readers. Here the protagonist is an ex-FBI investigator named Joe Lassiter who is seeking revenge for the murder of his sister and nephew. Lassiter soon discovers that there have been many other killings happening around the world as well and that somehow the Vatican is involved. The only common element appears to be a fertility clinic that all the victims attended, but with his sister's killer on the loose and a squad of hit men out to erase all evidence, Lassiter is in a race against the clock if he wants to solve the mystery and get his revenge.