Books Like The Witcher

Books Like The Witcher

Although many fans of The Witcher books by Andrzej Sapkowski had their doubts about the television series by Netlix the streaming giant managed to deliver a great show. The favorable reaction to the first season was also enough to secure a second season, but fans will have to wait until 2021 before its release. In the meantime there has been renewed interest in The Witcher novels, starring the traveling monster slayer for hire, Geralt of Rivia. If you have already read the novels and need some more dark fantasy monster-slaying action to tide you over until the next season fo the show, then check out the following books like The Witcher.

Kings of the Wyld

by Nicholas Eames

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames

Kings of the Wyld by Nicholas Eames is the first book in The Band series and features Clay Cooper and his band of mercenaries. Once upon a time they were the best at what they did and struck fear in the hearts of all who dared oppose them. Unfortunately, their glory days are long in the past and after retirement, the group drifted apart. It is a much older, fatter and drunker group that gets back together after an ex-member sends out a plea for help. Helping him out would require taking on a mission that only the very brave or the very stupid would even attempt, but the group is ready to take on one last impossible mission. Fans who enjoy the fantastical monsters, gritty storyline and humor of The Witcher will find plenty of the same elements in Kings of the Wyld.

The Axe and the Throne

by M. D. Ireman

The Axe and the Throne by M. D. Ireman

Some of the fight scenes in The Witcher novels can be violent and brutal, which is exactly what you'll find in The Axe and the Throne by M. D. Ireman. Just like The Witcher, it is also a book with a lot more grit and complexity than the standard fantasy fare. It is the story of a man named Tallos who made a promise that he will rescue his lifelong friend's eldest sons who were taken by Northmen. Tallos knows that the boys are probably already dead because the Northmen are known for their savagery, even his own better judgment and the pleading of his wife won't stop him. However, even Tallos is shocked by what he discovers when he embarks on his voyage to the North.

Discount Armageddon

by Seanan McGuire

Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire

Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire is an urban fantasy novel instead of traditional fantasy, but like The Witcher, it is filled with monsters and monster hunters. The protagonist, Verity Price, has been trained from birth as a cryptozoologist as her family has a long legacy of protecting the world from the monsters of the world. Unfortunately, unlike Gerald who takes his monster-slaying duties very seriously, Verity is more interested in professional ballroom dancing. Verity soon discovers that she can't outrun destiny as she has to deal with the disappearance of local cryptids, the appearance of strange lizard-men in the sewers and even talk of a slumbering dragon below the city.

The Traitor God

by Cameron Johnson

The Traitor God by Cameron Johnson

Despite protecting people from monsters Gerald is still treated as an outcast by many people in The Witcher novels because of his mutation. Edrin Walker, the protagonist of The Traitor God by Cameron Johnson, finds himself in a similar position. Edrin has been on the run for tun years while dodging daemons and debt, but the brutal murder of his friend, Lynas, draws him back home. Lynas discovered a terrible secret, one that threatens the entire city, but failed in warning the sorcerers in charge. Now it is up to Edrin to save the city from unimaginable horrors despite being their most hated outcast.

A Mark of Kings

by Bryce O' Conner & Luke Chmilenko

A Mark of Kings by Bryce O' Conner & Luke Chmilenko

Declan Idrys from A Mark of Kings has made a living from hunting festering wickedness, just like Gerald from The Witcher does. Although Declan is young he is well acquainted with all the evils of the world and has spent his life fighting as part of many different mercenary guilds along with his beastly companion, Ryn. However, just as Gerald often finds himself with contracts that do not go quite as expected, Declan and Ryn also end up with a mission that goes sideways. When the dead begin to rise and terrible beasts descend upon the kingdom, Declan has to choose between facing an ancient rising horror or flee as the realms of man faces annihilation.

The Heresy Within

by Rob J. Hayes

The Heresy Within by Rob J. Hayes

The Heresy Within by Rob J. Hayes features enough gritty action, swords, and magic to satisfy fans of The Witcher. Just like Gerald is not a hero in the traditional sense, the protagonists of The Heresy Within are also not exactly heroic. One is a Blademaster driven into the Wilds by a vengeful warlord, the other is a witch hunter who is given an impossible task because he is expendable. Finally, there is a cheating thief with his name on a WANTED poster in every town. However, all three of them have a common enemy and they will have to forge an uneasy alliance for their own survival.

The Red Knight

by Miles Cameron

The Red Knight by Miles Cameron

Gerald of Rivia prefers to work alone while The Red Knight is the leader of a company of mercenaries. However, both of them make their living from putting their own lives at risk to protect others from monsters. The Red Knight is the first book in the Traitor Son Cycle and sees the company of mercenaries hired to protect an Abbess and her nunnery. The Red Knight believes that it should be an easy job as the Abby is rich and his men can handle the monsters that are preying on the nuns. However, just as Gerald from The Witcher discovered many times, no job involving monsters is ever as easy as it first seems.

Linnea Tanner - Fascinated with Ancient Rome and Britannia
FEATURED AUTHOR - Award-winning Author Linnea Tanner weaves Celtic tales of love, magic, adventure, betrayal, and intrigue into historical fiction set in Ancient Rome and Britannia. Since childhood, she has passionately read about ancient civilizations and mythology which held women in higher esteem. Of particular interest are the enigmatic Celts who were reputed as fierce warriors and mystical Druids. Depending on the time of day and season of the year, you will find her exploring and researching ancient and… Read more