Books Of The Month December 2020

Books Of The Month December 2020

Last year might not have lived up to expectations, but it did give a lot of people more time to read. Even people who were not avid readers turned to books as a way to pass time and relieve the anxieties of reality. A new year means new reading goals and books to look forward to, but before bidding a final farewell to 2020, here are some of the best books of December 2020 as chosen by our readers.

Best Romance

The Trouble With Goodbye

by Sarra Cannon

The Trouble With Goodbye by Sarra Cannon

The Trouble With Goodbye by Sarra Cannon is the first volume in her popular Fairhope new adult romance series. The protagonist, Leigh Anne Davis, shocked the small town of Fairhope by breaking up with the richest guy in town and leaving to pursue her dreams in Boston. However, things didn't work out as planned and two years later she's back in Fairhope to reclaim what's left of her old life. It is here that she meets a troubled newcomer to the town named Knox Warner. The Trouble With Goodbye can be read as a stand-alone novel, but fans will love the other five titles in the series too.

Best Action & Adventure

The Acadian: Oliver

by Phillip Daigle

The Acadian: Oliver by Phillip Daigle

 

The Acadian: Oliver by Phillip Daigle is set in 1660 during a time when both France and England laid claim to the vast area of forest and waterways between Boston and Quebec. Acadia has always been the home of the Mi'kmaw people and while the French colonists in the area have a friendly alliance with them there are also Massachusetts Militiamen occupying forts nearby. An indentured servant named Oliver arrives from France and flees from his employer in search of an adventurous life of fur trading. However, when he witnesses an atrocity committed by rogue English soldiers Oliver joins a conflict that could jeopardize his future.

Best Mystery & Thriller

The Babbling Brook Naked Poker Club - Book One

by Ann Warner

The Babbling Brook Naked Poker Club - Book One by Ann Warner

The Babbling Brook Naked Poker Club Book One by Ann Warner is a laugh out loud cozy mystery with an incredible cast of characters. Josephine Bartlett, a rather unwilling resident of the Brookside Retirement Community has a circle of friends for the regular card game that she started for a bit of excitement. However, the group discovers Brookside is home to a lot more dodgy dealings than any of them ever expected. Josephine and her friends waste no time investigating what is going in a story that is told from alternating character viewpoints.

Best Children's Book

The Dog Days of Christmas

by Clifford Herriot

The Dog Days of Christmas by Clifford Herriot

 

The Dog Days of Christmas by Clifford Herriot is filled with funny and creative photos of dogs getting into the Christmas spirit. Along with the cute photos the book also contains some humorous "interviews" with the dogs that will delight children and anyone who loves their canine companions. The combination of adorable photos and funny captions in this book put a much-needed smile on many faces last Christmas.

Best Young Adult

Deceived

by L. A. Starkey

Deceived by L. A. Starkey

Deceived by L. A. Starkey is the first novel in her Soul Keeper series. It is a paranormal romance with a love triangle set in a world where twins, Marcus and Nicolas, are the sons of the last remaining Titan. These heirs to the throne of the gods must battle for the heart of Samantha, Pandora's daughters. However, the girl has been lost to the human world and is unaware of her hidden heritage. Samantha has been keeping her heart locked away for years, but things are about to change as the time of the prophecy has finally come.

Best Fantasy

A War of Daisies

by A. A. Chamberlynn

A War of Daisies by A. A. Chamberlynn

A War of Daisies by A. A. Chamberlynn is the first book in The Four Horsewomen of the Apocalypse series. It is set in Hawk's Hollow, Colorado during 1894 where four women discover that they were chosen to be the Riders of the Apocalypse. Where the four of them previously had dreams like reconnecting with their tribes, winning cross-country horse races, or becoming a Rodeo Queen, destiny has other plans for them. Now the four of them have new powers and the apocalypse is nigh. A War of Daisies is a unique take on The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and offers a great blend of fantasy and western.

Best Historical Fiction

Julien's Terror

by Laura Rahme

Julien's Terror by Laura Rahme

Julien's Terror by Laura Rahme is the story of Julien d'Aureville and Marguerite Lafolye, a young Parisian couple who survived the horrors of the French Revolution. Both of them suffered severe childhood trauma due to events during the revolution and as adults, they both have to deal with the demons of their past. Julien's Terror is a well-researched book that is packed with historical details that have been mixed with a chilling psychological tale.

Best Literary Fiction

Court Out

by Deb McEwan

Court Out by Deb McEwan

Court Out by Deb McEwan is a netball girls' drama featuring friendship, lust, and betrayal. Marsha Lawson uses netball as an escape from her miserable home life while desperately trying to keep her past buried. However, she's not the only one on the team with secrets. Court Out doesn't get bogged down with the technical details of the sport but instead focuses on the lives of the players. This leads to many twists, turns, and shocking revelations.

Best Science Fiction

Wasteland

by Terry Tyler

Wasteland by Terry Tyler

Wasteland is the second book in the Operation Galton series by Terry Tyler and a stand-alone sequel to "Hope." It is set in 2061 where the government watches every move of the citizens in the megacities. Rae Farrer is a resident of UK Megacity 12 and is content with her tech-loving, hard-working, law-abiding life. However, things change when Rae makes a shocking discovery about her birth.

Best Paranormal

Vampire For Hire

by J. R. Rain

Vampire for Hire by J. R. Rain

The Vampire for Hire box set by J. R. Rain contains the first three novels in the popular series. The protagonist, Samantha Moon, is a mother, wife, private investigator, and more importantly, a vampire. The first book sees Samantha hired to investigate the attempted murder of a man who survived five shots to the head. In the second book, Samantha is on the trail of a powerful crime lord while in the third book she is on the hunt for a missing five-year-old girl. Overall the series is a great read, especially for fans of Sookie Stackhouse, Anita Blake, and Harry Dresden.

Best Non-Fiction

My Mom or Other Elder Loved One Needs Help

by Ed Montagna

My Mom or Other Elder Loved One Needs Help by Ed Montagna

Covid-19 has highlighted how important caring for elders is, so it's no surprise that My Mom or Other Elder Loved One Needs Help by Ed Montagna was such a popular read. It is a reference book that is filled with all kinds of useful topics ranging from the best approaches to addressing elder care issues and spiritual well-being to information on nursing homes, assisted living facilities, and living at home. Ten appendices with many resources also help to cut down on having to waste time researching information online.