Free and Discounted Ebooks
Join 150,000 readers! Get our ebook deals straight to your inbox.

Prize Orations of the Intercollegiate Peace Association

Cover image for


Published: 1914
Language: English
Wordcount: 44,401 / 139 pg
Flesch-Kincaid Reading Ease: 37.8
LoC Category: JX
Downloads: 275
Added to site: 2009.10.02 25438
Genres: Essays, War

Foreword / C. F. Thwing -- The Intercollegiate peace association / S. F. Weston -- The conflict of war and peace / Paul Smith -- The United States and universal peace / G. P. Wishard -- The evolution of world peace / L. T. Pennington -- The waste of war--the wealth of peace / A. F. Young -- The hope of peace / S. H. Howe -- The Roosevelt theory of war / P. V. Blanshard -- National honor and vital interests / Russell Weisman -- The evolution of patriotism / P. B. Blanshard -- Certain phases of the peace movement / Calvert Magruder -- The assurance of peace / V. M. Welsh -- Education for peace / F. J. Lyons -- National honor and peace / Louis Broido -- The new nationalism and the peace movement / R. D. Lucas -- Man's moral nature the hope of universal peace / Victor Morris -- The task of the twentieth century / Harold Husted -- The present status of international arbitration / Bryant Smith.

Show Excerpt

te. This representation was small, considering the importance of the conference and the excellent program that had been arranged for by Professor Russell. But notwithstanding the small number of institutions represented, the conference was a marked success, made so very largely by the many excellent addresses--among others, those of Edwin D. Mead, Benjamin F. Trueblood, Professor Ernst Richard of Columbia University, and Honorable William Dudley Foulke.

On the last day of the conference the delegates from the different colleges met and perfected a permanent organization, which it was agreed should be called the Intercollegiate Peace Association. Thus, after a year of preliminary work, the Intercollegiate Peace Association came into definite and permanent existence on April 14, 1906. At this meeting Dean William P. Rogers of the Cincinnati Law School was elected president, and Professor Elbert Russell, secretary and treasurer. The president and the secretary, President Noah E. Byers of Goshen College, a



Join 150,000+ fellow readers! Get Free eBooks and book bargains from ManyBooks in your inbox. 

We respect your email privacy

login | register

User ID


reset password

Author of the Day

Richard Dietrich Maddox
Richard Dietrich Maddox is the author of a couple of number-one Amazon-bestselling Enlightenment novels.
Read full interview...