Books Like Mushoku Tense

Books Like Mushoku Tense

Many of the most popular anime shows or Japanese graphic novels are in the “Isekai” genre, which sees the protagonist being reincarnated in another world. However, what many fans might not know is that most of these started out as light novels. These light novels are very popular in their native country of Japan but have been garnering a lot of attention from other countries too. One of the most popular entries in the genre is Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation, which is about a 34-year-old man dying after trying to save a group of teenagers from a speeding truck. Much to his surprise he is reborn in a different world as a baby with all of his previous memories intact. Since he was jobless and hopeless in his previous life, he vows to make a difference in his new one. For more light novels following this Isekai theme check out the following books like Mushoku Tensei: Jobless Reincarnation.

Re:ZERO - Starting Life in Another World


by Tappei Nagatsuki

RE:ZERO - Starting Life in Another World by Tappe Nagatsuki

Re:ZERO - Starting Life in Another World by Tappe Nagatsuki follows Subaru Natsuki who finds himself transported to another world while trying to get to a convenience store. In this fantasy-like world, Subaru meets a half-elf named Emilia but is killed while trying to help her. However, when Subaru returns to life he discovers that he has the magical ability to time travel. Unfortunately, the only way to trigger it is to die, which is inconvenient, to say the least. 

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime

by Fuse

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime by Fuse

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime by Fuse is the story of a 37-year-old corporate worker named Satoru Mikami. He lives a pretty monotonous life until he dies after being stabbed by a robber. However, when Satoru wakes up he finds that he has been reincarnated as a slime monster in a fantasy realm. His new form does have some advantages, such as being able to mimic the appearance and skills of things that he devours. Satoru uses this fresh start as an opportunity to try and build his own nation of monsters.

My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom!

by Satoru Yamaguchi

My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! by Satoru Yamaguchi

My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! by Satoru Yamaguchi sees Katarina Claes, the daughter of a noble family, regaining memories of a past life after bumping her head. Catarina realizes that in a past life, she was a high school girl and that she has been reborn as the conniving villainess from “Fortune Lover,” her favorite dating sim game. Being the impossibly rich and spoiled daughter of a Duke has its advantages, but Katarina also knows that the only outcome for her character in the game is exile or death. However, the process of trying to avoid this path of doom causes unexpected consequences for Katarina and the other characters of the game’s world.

The Saga of Tanya the Evil

by Carlo Zen

The Saga of Tanya the Evil by Carlo Zen

The Saga of Tanya the Evil by Carlo Zen opens with an average Japanese salaryman getting murdered by someone he had fired at work. His lack of faith causes him to be reborn as an orphaned girl named Tanya Degurechaff. Tanya’s world is one of warfare and hardship, but she hatches a plan to rise up in the ranks of the Empire’s Mage Corps as quickly as possible to stay away from the battlefield. Because she was a calculating and utilitarian man in her previous life Tanya quickly becomes a ruthless soldier whose number one priority is her own life.

So I’m a Spider, So What?

by Okina Baba

So I'm a Spider, So What? by Okina Baba

So I’m a Spider, So What? by Okina Baba is set in a world where a battle between a hero and demon lord wages repeatedly. However, when a massive space-time spell misfires, it ends up hitting a Japanese high school class on Earth where it kills all the students. Fortunately, the students end up being reincarnated into this other world where many of them end up as royalty or other influential people. However, one girl is not so lucky and ends up becoming a very weak spider in a dungeon that is crawling with vicious beasts. While her situation is less than ideal she is determined to remain positive and survive in this harsh new world.

Farming Life in Another World

by Kinosuke Naito

Farming Life in Another World by Kinosuke Naito

Hiraku, the protagonist of Farming Life in Another World by Kinosuke Naito, dies from a serious illness at the age of 39 due to a god not giving him good luck. As an apology, Hiraku is reincarnated in the fantasy world of his choice, complete with his health and youth restored. In addition, Hiraku is given a holy artifact that has been turned into an almighty farming tool for him. Hiraku sets out to enjoy this new laidback life, as he requested a place with few people, but soon ends up surrounded by a community.

Ascendance of a Bookworm

by Miya Kazuki

Ascendance of a Bookworm by Miya Kazuki

Ascendance of a Bookworm by Miya Kazuki follows the adventures of a college girl named Urano who dies in a freak accident involving a pile of books and an earthquake. She was soon to be a librarian, so with her dying breath she wishes to be reincarnated in a life where she can read forever. Unfortunately, she returns as Myne, the sickly five-year-old daughter of a poor soldier. To make matters worse, she finds that her new world is one with very low literary rates and that books barely exist. Undeterred, Myne decides that she will stop at nothing to become a librarian even if she has to make books herself. 

Anna Stuart - Heart-Wrenching WW2 Historical Fiction
FEATURED AUTHOR - Anna Stuart wanted to be an author from the moment she could pick up a pen and was writing boarding-school novels by the age of nine. She made the early mistake of thinking she ought to get a ‘proper job’ and went into Factory Planning—a career that provided her with wonderful experiences, amazing friends, and even a fantastic husband, but didn’t offer much creative scope. When she stopped having children, she took the chance to start the ‘improper job’ of writing.