Books Like Time Was Soft There

Books Like Time Was Soft There

There can be no doubt that the internet has made it much easier and convenient to read books online, but for many readers there's still nothing that beats a real book. While books can be ordered online and shipped straight to your door it doesn't mean that bookstores are obsolete. Some readers love bookstores because of the nostalgia associated with them while for others they offer a more comforting alternative compared to the clinical process of buying books online. Many authors also still harbor a fondness for bookstores, especially independent ones, which is why they appear in so many stories. For example, Time Was Soft There is about a Paris bookstore that becomes a haven for down and out writers in the City of Love. If you are one of the readers who love a good story that involves a cozy bookshop then check out the following books like Time Was Soft There.

Confessions of a Curious Bookseller

by Elizabeth Green

Confessions of a Curious Bookseller by Elizabeth Green

Confessions of a Curious Bookseller by Elizabeth Green is the story of a used bookstore owner named Fawn Birchill. She considers her shop in West Philadelphia to be a cornerstone of culture for the community, but becomes very threatened when an indie bookseller arrives on her block. In contrast to the quirkiness of her own shop, her new rival has a place with cushy couches, a coffee bar, and knowledgeable staff. Confessions of a Curious Bookseller is told entirely through emails, texts, tweets and other forms of electronic communication. It chronicles the struggles of Elizabeth as she not only tries to save her beloved business, but also take control of her life in the process.

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

by Robin Sloan

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Clay Jahnnon is the protagonist of Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. Clay used to be a web designer, but ends up working the night shift at Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore due to recession and a few other factors. It doesn’t take long for Clay to realize that the store is anything but ordinary. Not only does the bookstore only have a few customers, but they seem to come in repeatedly despite never actually buying anything. This leads Clay to speculate that the store must be a front for something larger, so he enlists the help of his friends to discover exactly what is going on.

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin sees the owner of a bookshop called Island Books going through a tough time. Not only is his bookshop failing, but he has also lost his beloved wife. If that wasn't enough to beat him down his prized rare first edition book also gets stolen. This causes him to give up on people as well as the books in his store. However, A. J. finds his life changing forever upon the discovery of a two-year-old girl named Maya left on the bookshop floor. The only thing she has with her is a note asking the owner to look after her. The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry is not just about what happens with A. J., Maya and the bookstore, but also the people whose lives they touch.

The Bookshop of Yesterdays

by Amy Meyerson

The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson

The protagonist of The Bookshop of Yesterdays by Amy Meyerson is a young woman named Miranda Brooks. Miranda practically grew up in the bookstore of her eccentric Uncle Billy, where she would spend hours solving the scavenger hunts he created for her. However, after her uncle and mother has a mysterious falling out on Miranda's twelfth birthday he unexpectedly disappears from her life. It's not until sixteen years later that Miranda receives the unexpected news of her uncle's death. Even more surprising is that he left the bookstore, which is teetering on bankruptcy, to her. She also discovers that he left her one last scavenger hunt, which she is determined to solve while saving the bookstore in the process.

A Novel Bookstore

by Laurnece Cossé

A Novel Bookstore by Laurnece Cosse

A Novel Bookstore by Laurnece Cossé is the story of two people who are frustrated by the glut of mediocre books printed every month. This prompts the two, named Ivan and Francesca, to open up their own bookstore where they are determined to only sell good literature. It's an idea that proves more popular than what they ever expected and soon their bookstore is a haven for bibliophiles all across Paris. In fact, it becomes so successful that it influences the way in which other bookstores in the city operates. However, with the growing success also comes growing jealousy and soon the owners as well as their selection committee is subjected to vicious editorials and threats.

The Diary of a Bookseller

by Shaun Bythell

The DIary of a Bookseller by Shaun Bythell

The Diary of a Bookseller by Shaun Bythell is actually his own memoir of his time at the helm of Scotland's largest second-hand store, The Bookshop. Not only did it have over one hundred thousand books in a glorious old house, but it was set in a beautiful town by the sea. For a book-lover it seemed like paradise, but after Shaun buys the store he discovers that there is a downside to the whole affair too. Not only does Shaun have to cope with the trials and tribulations of being a small businessman, but his rather eccentric customers requires a lot of his energy too. Even his own staff features a couple of oddballs, which ensures that there is never a dull moment in The Bookshop. The Diary of a Bookseller is not just a great read for anyone who has ever dreamed of owning a bookstore, but filled with enough laugh out loud moments to draw other readers in too.