I really liked the books like One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest article and read all the books are there any more recommendations?
Posted on 29th of June, 2020

Answers

I really enjoyed that article too and found a few more books that are along similar lines.

The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls by Emilie Autumn: This one is about two women who are living centuries apart but both of them are accused of madness. One girl, Emillie, is a young musician who overdoses on antipsychotics. This attempted suicide lands her in a maximum-security psych ward, but Emillie claims that she had valid reasons for what she did. When Emillie tries to document her experiences in a secret diary, she discovers a letter from a woman who is also imprisoned in an insane asylum, but in Victorian England. The cool thing about the book is you never know what is real and what is not.

Lunar Caustic by Malcolm Lowry: This one is about a piano player called Bill Plantagenet who loses his band (and his mind) drinking in New York. He commits himself to a Psychiatric hospital for recovery, which is where he writes madness and sanity. I believe that the author himself suffered with alcoholism, which affected his mental health.

The Electric Kool-Aid Test by Tom Wolfe - This one is a bit of a stretch, but I really enjoyed reading about the 60s and what really went down. What drew me to it is the fact that the main character is Ken Kelsey, who you will know as the author of One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest. The writing style is a bit hard to read at times, but it's a fascinating book.

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane: This one you could probably skip if you’ve already watched the movie starring Leonardo Di Caprio. It’s about a U.S Marshal sent to a Hospital for the Criminally Insane where he has to investigate something. Obviously, things turn out to be a little more complicated than that.
Hope my recommendations help!

New to Manybooks Discuss?

This is where readers and authors alike can submit any questions they have about books. Browse through all the questions previously asked by our community here, or post a new question using the button below.
Alicia Anthony - The Cost of Truth and the Price we Pay for Love
FEATURED AUTHOR - Alicia Anthony’s first novels were illegible scribbles on the back of her truck driver father's logbook trip tickets. Having graduated from scribbles to laptop, she now pens novels of psychological suspense in the quiet of the wee morning hours. A full-time elementary school Literacy Specialist, Alicia hopes to pass on her passion for books and writing to the students she teaches. A two time Golden Heart® finalist and Silver Quill Award winner, Alicia finds her inspiration in exploring the dark… Read more