I really liked the books like One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest article and read all the books are there any more recommendations?
Posted on 29th of June, 2020

Answers

I really enjoyed that article too and found a few more books that are along similar lines.

The Asylum for Wayward Victorian Girls by Emilie Autumn: This one is about two women who are living centuries apart but both of them are accused of madness. One girl, Emillie, is a young musician who overdoses on antipsychotics. This attempted suicide lands her in a maximum-security psych ward, but Emillie claims that she had valid reasons for what she did. When Emillie tries to document her experiences in a secret diary, she discovers a letter from a woman who is also imprisoned in an insane asylum, but in Victorian England. The cool thing about the book is you never know what is real and what is not.

Lunar Caustic by Malcolm Lowry: This one is about a piano player called Bill Plantagenet who loses his band (and his mind) drinking in New York. He commits himself to a Psychiatric hospital for recovery, which is where he writes madness and sanity. I believe that the author himself suffered with alcoholism, which affected his mental health.

The Electric Kool-Aid Test by Tom Wolfe - This one is a bit of a stretch, but I really enjoyed reading about the 60s and what really went down. What drew me to it is the fact that the main character is Ken Kelsey, who you will know as the author of One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest. The writing style is a bit hard to read at times, but it's a fascinating book.

Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane: This one you could probably skip if you’ve already watched the movie starring Leonardo Di Caprio. It’s about a U.S Marshal sent to a Hospital for the Criminally Insane where he has to investigate something. Obviously, things turn out to be a little more complicated than that.
Hope my recommendations help!

New to Manybooks Discuss?

This is where readers and authors alike can submit any questions they have about books. Browse through all the questions previously asked by our community here, or post a new question using the button below.
Brandon Rohrbaugh - Immersive Mix Between Reality and Fantasy
FEATURED AUTHOR - Young adult author Brand Rohrbaugh daydreamed as a child of creating his own fictitious worlds like the ones from his favorite movies. With his urban magical realism title, Legend of Mermaid Cliff, he achieves this by combining reality and fantasy in a way that immerses the reader in its dark world. Writing his novels involves a lot of research to create ideas for a story. Some of his best writing happens when it’s raining outside, its sound having an entrancing effect on him.