Books Like The Day of the Triffids

Books Like The Day of the Triffids

Many science fiction novels deal with humanity fighting back against external threats such as aliens, zombies, or robots. However, a few authors have also imagined worlds in which nature itself turns against humans for the harm they are inflicting on the planet. One of the earliest examples is the 1951 classic by John Wyndham called The Day of the Triffids. Most of Earth's population is rendered blind by a freak cosmic event in this novel. This puts them at the mercy of mobile plants with lethal stingers and carnivorous appetites called Triffids. For more stories where the tables are turned, and humanity has to fear nature, check out the following books like The Day of the Triffids.

The Swarm

by Frank Schatzing

The Swarm by Frank Schatzing

The Swarm by Frank Schatzing is a scientifically realistic thriller about the ocean turning on humans. The survival of Earth's fragile ecology is at stake as whales begin sinking ships, water supplies are poisoned, and the North Sea Shelf collapses. The Swarm follows an ensemble cast of characters investigating these events and discovering how everything ties together.

The Fifth Season

by N. K. Jemisin

The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin

The Fifth Season is the first book in the Broken Earth series by N. K. Jemisin. It is set in a far future where all the continents have combined to form a supercontinent called the Stillness. The planet is also plagued by so-called "Fifth Seasons," featuring massive natural disasters that impact everyone living on the Stillness. However, some people have also adapted to wield the power of the earth as a weapon.

The Ruins

by Scott Smith

The Ruins by Scott Smith

The Ruins by Scott Smith is set in a Mexican jungle where two young couples went on vacation. Initially, they spend their time on sun-drenched days and drunken nights befriending some fellow tourists. However, when the brother of one of their new friends disappears, they agree to venture into the jungle to help search for him. Unfortunately, what they find in the wilderness is the site of ancient ruins covered in vines. Initially, the group fears that the Mayans who are preventing them from leaving are the greatest danger, but then find that nature has way worse in store for them. The novel received a 2008 film adaptation that featured a slightly happier ending than the book.

The Book of Koli

by M. R. Carey

The Book of Koli by M. R. Carey

The Book of Koli by M. R. Carey is the first novel in The Rampart Trilogy. It is set in a post-apocalyptic Britain where, beyond the walls of a small village, everything is deadly to the remaining humans. The landscape is covered with overgrown forests that are filled with choker trees and deadly seeds that can kill people where they stand. The protagonist, Koli, has lived in this village all his life believing that the only way to survive is to never venture too far beyond the walls. However, his ambition to wield some of the technology from the old times lands him in more trouble than he ever expected.

Zoo

by James Patterson

Zoo by James Patterson

 Zoo by James Patterson sees brutal animal attacks crippling entire cities across the globe. A young biologist named Jackson Oz teams up with an ecologist, Chloe Tousignant, to warn world leaders about what is happening before it is too late. However, as the attacks become more ferocious and cunning, it becomes clear that there will soon be no place for humanity to hide from nature's wrath. Zoo received a three-season television adaptation that was loosely based on the book's premise.

The Drowned World

by J. G. Ballard

The Drowned World by J. G. Ballard

The Drowned World by J. G. Ballard is set during the year 2145 after global warming has melted the ice caps. The increased temperatures and rising sea levels caused a tropical climate worldwide while rendering most of the planet inhospitable to humans. So instead, giant lizards, dragonflies, and insects compete for domination while what is left of humanity has fled to the newly-hospitable poles. The story features a scientific survey unit sent to what was once the city of London to catalog the flora and fauna of a lagoon. However, once they arrive, the expedition's team members begin to have strange dreams.

Hothouse

by Brian W. Aldiss

Hothouse by Brian W. Aldiss

Hothouse by Brian W. Aldiss is set millions of years in the future where the Earth has long since stopped spinning. This has resulted in giant flora, most of which are omnivorous, taking over the half of the planet that still has sunlight. Although some humans have survived, they are doing so against overwhelming odds. Not only have their numbers dwindled to almost nothing, but they have become small and weak in the process. The story follows the younger members of a tribe who are left to make their own way as their elders leave them.

Fauna

by David Benton

Fauna by David Benton

Fauna by David Benton sees nature taking revenge on humanity through animal attacks. Initially, the animal attacks around the globe appear to be unconnected, but it soon becomes a massacre. As humanity slips down the food chain, it becomes clear that all life on Earth is working towards the culling of the human race.

Roy Huff - Captivating Time Travel Thrillers
FEATURED AUTHOR - Roy Huff is a Hawaii-based best-selling author, peer-reviewed research scientist, and teacher. After overcoming significant childhood poverty in the US mainland, he moved to the islands and hasn't looked back. Despite his challenges, which include a family stricken by mental illness and the loss of a father to HIV/AIDS, he’s earned five degrees, trained on geostationary satellites for NASA's GOES-R Proving Ground, and has written numerous bestsellers. Roy embraces optimism, science, and… Read more