Books Like The Midnight Guardian

Books Like The Midnight Guardian

The Second World War was a dark and terrible time in human history filled with plenty of horror. While there are plenty of biographies and historical fiction novels that deal with the true events of World War 2, there are some authors who use the setting as a backdrop for paranormal or horror stories. For example, in The Midnight Guardian by Sarah Jane Stratford a tribunal of vampires breaks their policy of not interfering in human politics when they see where Hitler’s rise to power is leading. To thwart his plans of cleaning all bloodlines deemed tainted or undesirable the vampires sent five of their most formidable to infiltrate, disrupt and destroy the Nazi war machine. For more World War 2 stories with a horror or paranormal slant check out the following books like The Midnight Guardian.

The Keep

by F. Paul Wilson

The Keep by F. Paul Wilson

The Keep is the first novel in the Adversary Cycle by F. Paul Wilson. The story is set during World War 2 where German soldiers stationed at a mysterious castle in the Carpathian Mountains of Romania are getting killed off one by one. Each night a single victim is selected by the unknown enemy and their bloodless, mutilated corpse is left behind for future victims to find. The soldiers are terrified of this invisible and silent adversary, so an elite SS extermination squad is sent to the keep to resolve the issue. However, the only person who might be able to shed light on the situation is a local expert on folklore, who also happens to be Jewish. The Keep was first published in 1981 and received a film adaptation in 1983 as well as a 2006 comic version.

The Wolf’s Hour

by Robert McCammon

The Wolf's Hour by Robert McCammon

The Wolf’s Hour is the first book in the Michael Gallatin series by Robert McCammon. Michael is a Russian émigré turned operative for the British Secret Service. Although retired, he is brought on to help when Allied Intelligence discovers a Nazi strategy that may thwart the D-Day invasion that is underway. Michael is tasked with parachuting into Nazi-occupied France where he must find the informant and retrieve vital information. This won’t be easy as the informant is under close watch by the Gestapo, but Michael is not an ordinary man and with time running out he will have to unleash his own internal demons to succeed. 

Bitter Seeds

by Ian Tregillis

Bitter Seeds by Ian Tregillis

Bitter Seeds is the first novel in the Milkweed series by Ian Tregillis. It is an alternate military history story where the Nazis start using people with unnatural abilities for missions. These range from a woman who can turn invisible to a man who can walk through solid walls. The story unfolds from multiple points of view, including Raybould Marsh who is a British secret agent, William, who is a British nobleman and warlock, and Klaus, one of the German “supermen” working for the Nazis. To try and stop the impending invasion of Britain, Raybould rallies the secret warlocks of the country, but their adversaries include a woman who can use her knowledge of the future to twist the present.

Lammas Night

by Katherine Kurtz

Lammas Night by Katherine Kurtz

Lammas Night by Katherine Kurtz is set in 1940 and sees Great Britain’s forces struggling against the Nazi war machine after France has fallen. When word is received that Hitler is planning on harnessing the power of the occult to conquer Great Britain a British intelligence operation named Col. John “Gray” Graham is tasked with thwarting the Führer. However, Gray is not just a spy, but also a practitioner of the ancient occult arts. Along with his close friend, Prince William of the British royal family, Gray sets out to unite the British covens in defense of their endangered homeland. 

The Tower’s Alchemist

by Alesha Escobar

The Tower's Alchemist by Alesha Escobar

The Tower’s Alchemist is the first book in the Gray Tower Trilogy by Alesha Escobar. The premise is an alternative World War 2 where magic is real and could be the key to winning the war. The heroine is a jaded spy and battle-weary alchemist named Isabella George who wants nothing more than to retire and find love. Unfortunately, Isabella has to postpone her plans when she is sent on a mission to Parachute into Nazi-occupied France to extract a warlock and the alchemical weapon he created. However, things go wrong when Isabella is betrayed by someone from her own organization, and her identity is exposed. Nevertheless, she is determined to complete her mission even with a vampire hot on her trail.

At the Table of Wolves

By Kay Kenyon

At the Tables of Wolves by Kay Kenyon

At the Tables of Wolves is the first novel in the A Dark Talents series by Kay Kenyon. It is set in 1936 where paranormal abilities are beginning to seep into the world after all the suffering during the Great War. Both Germany and England are researching how to weaponize these abilities, but the latter is lagging. Kim Tavistock is a woman with the ability to draw out truths that most people wish to hide. She is also one of the test subjects at Monkton Hall, an ultra-secret site used by England for research. After winning the confidence of her case worker, Kim is recruited to expose the head of Monkton Hall, who is believed to be a German spy.