Books Like Flirting With Death

Books Like Flirting With Death

Recent years have seen more female assassins grace the big screens in action movies, but women have long been excelling as covert operatives and assassins in literature. Books like Flirting With Death by Heidi Hall, which is part of her Assassins Anonymous series, shows that stories of female assassins can be every bit as compelling and enjoyable as their male counterparts. However, these types of books are also not just bound to a single genre. From fantasy to science fiction, contemporary to paranormal, here are some of the best books like Flirting With Death that showcases the talents of female assassins.

In Cold Blood

by Mark Dawson

In Cold Blood by Mark Dawson

Fans of Jason Bourne and Jack Reacher will enjoy In Cold Blood by Mark Dawson. It is the first book in his Beatrix Rose Thriller series, which sees the lead character ambushed and betrayed by her team. However, as the most dangerous assassin in a government kill squad, she is not someone to be trifled with. Beatrix escapes but is driven underground where she begins planning her revenge. After biding her time for years, she appears again from the Hong Kong underworld. Payback is still very much on her mind and she has a list of six people she plans on sending to their graves for what they did to her.

Red Sister

by Mark Lawrence

Red Sister by Mark Lawrence

Red Sister is by Mark Lawrence who also wrote the Broken Empire and Red Queen's War trilogies. It is the first novel in his Book of the Ancestor series and focuses on a secret order of holy warriors. Young girls are taken to the Convent of Sweet Mercy where they are raised and trained to be killers. The protagonist, Nona Grey, was brought to the convent when she was only nine years old. She barely escaped the noose after being falsely accused of murder, but at the convent, she receives ten years of training in the ways of blade and fist to turn her into a Red Sister. However, Nona's secrets and violent past find her even at the security and isolation of the convent.

Chameleon Assassin

by BR Kingsolver

Chameleon Assassin by BR Kingsolver

Chameleon Assassin is an urban fantasy novel by BR Kingsolver that is set in the year 2200. Due to a combination of climate change and nuclear war the world is a very different place and corporations are in charge instead of governments. Although civilization didn't come to an end, the world became less civilized in the aftermath. The protagonist of the story is a mutant named Libby. She's one of the top burglars and assassins in this new world and depending on the price there's nothing that she can't accomplish. From stealing priceless art to hacking corporate networks and even eliminating corporate rivals, Libby is the assassin for the job.

Assassin's Blade

by Melinda R. Cordell

Assassin's Blade by Melinda R. Cordell

Assassin's Blade by Melinda R. Cordell is the first book in her Dragonriders of Fiorenza series, which is set in an alternate medieval Italy where dragons and magic are real. The protagonist is a young woman named Fia who uses her dragon, Ryelleth, to transport the rich around. Her life changes when her father is kidnapped and the ransom being demanded for his release is much more than Fia could ever afford. Left with no other choice she calls on the aid of her grandmother who used to be an assassin. Together these two tough ladies are not going to let anyone stand in their way and along with Ryelleth makes a formidable team.

Pro Bono

by Lauryn Christopher

Pro Bono by Lauryn Christopher

Pro Bono by Lauryn Christopher is the first in her action-packed and mystery-laden Hit Lady for Hire series. The protagonist, Meg Harrison, is a paid assassin but decides to do some pro bono work when a friend is accused of murdering her deadbeat ex-husband. Meg has had the man on her hit-list as well, for reasons of her own, but the more she investigates, the more she becomes convinced that he's not really dead. This leaves Meg in the position of having to try and discover who the real killer is before her friend pays the price. The story also delves into the past of Meg, giving readers a glimpse of why she has become the person she is.

Spider's Bite

by Jennifer Estep

Spider's Bite by Jennifer Estep

Spider's Bite by Jennifer Estep is the story of Gin Blanco, a woman who was forced to become an assassin to survive after her family was murdered when she was only thirteen years old. However, the murder was the work of a fire elemental, so it's a good thing that Gin has some paranormal powers of her own. After her assignment to assassinate a businessman turns out to be a trap and her handler murdered, Gin is determined to find out who is behind it all. Although she teams up with the detective investigating the case, Gin is also not averse to killing anyone standing between her and the truth.

Grave Mercy

by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers is the story of Ismae, a 17-year old girl who escaped from a forced marriage at the age of 14. Since then she has taken refuge at the convent of St Mortain where she has been training to become an assassin. To prove her skills she is sent to the court of Brittany to perform an assassination, but Ismae is unprepared for what she finds there. Not only is it a place with games of intrigue and treason, but against her will, she also falls in love with her mark. Ismae has strict orders to protect the Duchess of Brittany by killing the traitor in her court, but can she do it at the cost of the only man she could ever love?

Primary Target

by Jim Heskett and Nick Thacker

Primary Target by Jim Heskett and Nick Thacker

Primary Target is the first book in the Six Assassins series and features Ember Clarke, a nimble killer-for-hire. Ember is a member of the Denver Assassins Club and the only rule that they have is that if you step out of line you will become the next target. Although she is an assassin, Emily doesn't kill indiscriminately. Instead, she only accepts contracts for dirtbags like serial rapists. Unfortunately, Emily is forced to kill another Club hitman when he shows up to steal her contract and threaten her in the process. Although it was self-defense her actions still put her at odds with the Club who decides that as punishment she will have to survive a grueling gauntlet of her peers.

Cindy Sample - When Online Dating Goes Horribly Wrong
FEATURED AUTHOR - Cindy Sample is the national bestselling author of the Laurel McKay humorous romantic mystery series. She is a five-time LEFTY Award Finalist for best humorous mystery. Her experiences with on-line dating sites fueled the concept for DYING FOR A DATE. Cindy is a past president of the Sacramento chapter of Sisters in Crime and has served on the boards of the Sacramento Opera and the YWCA. She has two wonderful adult children who live too far away. As our Author of the Day, she tells us all about… Read more